Published mark

CMS Energy

CMS ENERGY CORP

NYSE: CMS. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:4c88aae9-6641-4cff-9a16-aad6f3f779b9
SEC CIK
0000811156
Website
www.cmsenergy.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
May 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Garrick J. RochowSince Feb 10, 2026
Chair
John G. Russell
Independent
10 / 1111 directors published
Published claims
625 distinct sources
Evidence records
130 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 5 distinct sources and 13 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

EXECUTIVE APPOINTED

Brandon J. Hofmeister executive of CMS Energy, effective 2026-02-10.

EffectiveEffective Feb 10, 2026E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Senior Vice PresidentBrandon J. HofmeisterFeb 2026currentSource reportedE4
President, Chief Executive Officer, and DirectorGarrick J. RochowFeb 2026currentSource reportedE5
Senior Vice President and Chief Customer and Growth OfficerLauren SnyderFeb 2026currentSource reportedE6
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerRejji P. HayesFeb 2026currentSource reportedE7
Vice President, Controller, and Chief Accounting OfficerScott B. McIntoshFeb 2026currentSource reportedE8
Executive Vice President and Chief Legal and Administrative OfficerShaun M. JohnsonFeb 2026currentSource reportedE9
Executive Vice President and Chief Legal and Administrative OfficerSuzanne Nora JohnsonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE10
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating OfficerTonya L. BerryNot capturedunknownSource reportedE11

Board of directors

Evidence

11 directors published. 10 of 11 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Deborah H. ButlerIndependent2015Compensation and Human ResourcesCompensation and Human Resources; Governance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilityGovernance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilitySource reportedE3
Diane LeopoldIndependent2026Compensation and Human ResourcesCompensation and Human Resources; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE3
Garrick J. RochowNot independent2020None publishedSource reportedE3
John G. RussellIndependentChair2010ExecutiveSource reportedE3
John G. SznewajsIndependent2015None publishedSource reportedE3
Laura H. WrightIndependent2013Compensation and Human ResourcesCompensation and Human Resources; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility; ExecutiveExecutiveGovernance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilitySource reportedE3
Myrna M. SotoIndependent2015AuditAudit; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility; ExecutiveExecutiveGovernance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilitySource reportedE3
Ralph IzzoIndependent2023AuditAudit; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE3
Richard P. KeyesIndependent2026AuditAudit; Governance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilityGovernance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilitySource reportedE3
Ronald J. TanskiIndependent2019Compensation and Human ResourcesCompensation and Human Resources; Finance; ExecutiveExecutiveFinanceSource reportedE3
Suzanne F. ShankIndependent2019AuditAudit; Finance; ExecutiveExecutiveFinanceSource reportedE3
John G. SznewajsIndependence not publishedNot publishedAudit, chairExecutiveFinanceSource reportedE12

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditJohn G. SznewajsJohn G. Sznewajs, Myrna M. Soto, Ralph Izzo, Richard P. Keyes, Suzanne F. ShankNot described in the published record
Audit; FinanceNot publishedRalph Izzofinancial
Audit; Finance; ExecutiveNot publishedSuzanne F. Shankfinancial
Audit; Governance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilityNot publishedRichard P. KeyesNot described in the published record
Audit; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility; ExecutiveNot publishedMyrna M. SotoNot described in the published record
Compensation and Human ResourcesNot publishedDeborah H. Butler, Diane Leopold, Laura H. Wright, Ronald J. TanskiNot described in the published record
Compensation and Human Resources; FinanceNot publishedDiane Leopoldfinancial
Compensation and Human Resources; Finance; ExecutiveNot publishedRonald J. Tanskifinancial
Compensation and Human Resources; Governance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilityNot publishedDeborah H. ButlerNot described in the published record
Compensation and Human Resources; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility; ExecutiveNot publishedLaura H. WrightNot described in the published record
ExecutiveNot publishedJohn G. Russell, John G. Sznewajs, Laura H. Wright, Myrna M. Soto, Ronald J. Tanski, Suzanne F. ShankNot described in the published record
FinanceNot publishedDiane Leopold, John G. Sznewajs, Ralph Izzo, Ronald J. Tanski, Suzanne F. Shankfinancial
Governance, Sustainability and Public ResponsibilityNot publishedDeborah H. Butler, Laura H. Wright, Myrna M. Soto, Richard P. KeyesNot described in the published record
Committee AppointmentJohn G. Sznewajs: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentMyrna M. Soto: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentRalph Izzo: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentRichard P. Keyes: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentSuzanne F. Shank: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation and Human Resources: Chair not stated; Members Deborah H. Butler; Diane Leopold; Laura H. Wright; Ronald J. Tanski
Committee AppointmentDeborah H. Butler: member, Compensation and Human Resources
Committee AppointmentDiane Leopold: member, Compensation and Human Resources
Committee AppointmentLaura H. Wright: member, Compensation and Human Resources
Committee AppointmentRonald J. Tanski: member, Compensation and Human Resources
Committee RecordExecutive: Chair not stated; Members John G. Russell; John G. Sznewajs; Laura H. Wright; Myrna M. Soto; Ronald J. Tanski; Suzanne F. Shank
Committee AppointmentJohn G. Russell: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentJohn G. Sznewajs: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentLaura H. Wright: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentMyrna M. Soto: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentRonald J. Tanski: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentSuzanne F. Shank: member, Executive
Committee RecordFinance: Chair not stated; Members Diane Leopold; John G. Sznewajs; Ralph Izzo; Ronald J. Tanski; Suzanne F. Shank
Committee AppointmentDiane Leopold: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentJohn G. Sznewajs: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentRalph Izzo: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentRonald J. Tanski: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentSuzanne F. Shank: member, Finance
Committee RecordGovernance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility: Chair not stated; Members Deborah H. Butler; Laura H. Wright; Myrna M. Soto; Richard P. Keyes
Committee AppointmentDeborah H. Butler: member, Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility
Committee AppointmentLaura H. Wright: member, Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility
Committee AppointmentMyrna M. Soto: member, Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility
Committee AppointmentRichard P. Keyes: member, Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerGarrick J. Rochow, President, Chief Executive Officer, and Director, from Feb 10, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingCMS (NYSE)
Security ListingCMS-PC (NYSE)
Security ListingCMSA (NYSE)
Security ListingCMSC (NYSE)
Security ListingCMSD (NYSE)
Security ListingCMS$C (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)CMS-PCcurrentMar 4, 1957inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameCMS ENERGY CORP
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.cmsenergy.com
Published FactUtilities
Published Facthttps://www.cmsenergy.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
13 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 11 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    CMS ENERGY CORP Form 10-K. SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Mar 26, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 11 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Feb 10, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Feb 10, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Feb 10, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Feb 10, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Feb 10, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Feb 10, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    CMS executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    CMS executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 29 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Brandon J. Hofmeister executive of CMS Energy, effective 2026-02-10.
  • Garrick J. Rochow executive of CMS Energy, effective 2026-02-10.
  • Lauren Snyder executive of CMS Energy, effective 2026-02-10.
  • Rejji P. Hayes executive of CMS Energy, effective 2026-02-10.
  • Scott B. McIntosh executive of CMS Energy, effective 2026-02-10.
  • Shaun M. Johnson executive of CMS Energy, effective 2026-02-10.
  • Diane Leopold seat on CMS Energy, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Richard P. Keyes seat on CMS Energy, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Audit; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility committee of CMS Energy, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Richard P. Keyes member of Audit; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Compensation and Human Resources; Finance committee of CMS Energy, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Diane Leopold member of Compensation and Human Resources; Finance, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Ralph Izzo seat on CMS Energy, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Audit; Finance committee of CMS Energy, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Ralph Izzo member of Audit; Finance, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Garrick J. Rochow seat on CMS Energy, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Ronald J. Tanski seat on CMS Energy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Suzanne F. Shank seat on CMS Energy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Audit; Finance; Executive committee of CMS Energy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Suzanne F. Shank member of Audit; Finance; Executive, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Compensation and Human Resources; Finance; Executive committee of CMS Energy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Ronald J. Tanski member of Compensation and Human Resources; Finance; Executive, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Deborah H. Butler seat on CMS Energy, effective 2015-01-01.
  • John G. Sznewajs seat on CMS Energy, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Myrna M. Soto seat on CMS Energy, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Audit; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility; Executive committee of CMS Energy, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Myrna M. Soto member of Audit; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility; Executive, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Compensation and Human Resources; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility committee of CMS Energy, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Deborah H. Butler member of Compensation and Human Resources; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Laura H. Wright seat on CMS Energy, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Compensation and Human Resources; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility; Executive committee of CMS Energy, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Laura H. Wright member of Compensation and Human Resources; Governance, Sustainability and Public Responsibility; Executive, effective 2013-01-01.
  • John G. Russell seat on CMS Energy, effective 2010-01-01.
  • John G. Russell chairs board CMS Energy, effective 2010-01-01.
  • John G. Russell member of Executive, effective 2010-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:4c88aae9-6641-4cff-9a16-aad6f3f779b9, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/cms-energy

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:4c88aae9-6641-4cff-9a16-aad6f3f779b9
  • Cite this recordCMS Energy
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/cms-energy
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    CMS EnergyCompany
  • Brandon J. HofmeisterPerson
  • Garrick J. RochowPerson
  • Lauren SnyderPerson
  • Rejji P. HayesPerson
  • Scott B. McIntoshPerson
  • Shaun M. JohnsonPerson
  • Suzanne Nora JohnsonPerson
  • Tonya L. BerryPerson
  • Deborah H. ButlerPerson
  • Diane LeopoldPerson
  • John G. RussellPerson
  • John G. SznewajsPerson
  • Laura H. WrightPerson
  • Myrna M. SotoPerson
  • Ralph IzzoPerson
  • Richard P. KeyesPerson
  • Ronald J. TanskiPerson
  • Suzanne F. ShankPerson
  • John G. SznewajsPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewCMS Energy
  • MonitoringCMS Energy
  • LeadershipCMS Energy
  • BoardCMS Energy
  • CommitteesCMS Energy
  • Control and votingCMS Energy
  • Authority to actCMS Energy
  • FinancialsCMS Energy
  • GovernanceCMS Energy
  • RiskCMS Energy
  • AI oversightCMS Energy
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.