Published mark

Southern Company

SOUTHERN CO

NYSE: SO. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:10c20a93-b28d-4eb0-8cfb-de5e95529f2e
SEC CIK
0000092122
Website
www.southerncompany.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
May 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Christopher C. WomackChairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
Chair
Christopher C. WomackLead independent: Anthony F. Earley, Jr.
Independent
11 / 1212 directors published
Published claims
655 distinct sources
Evidence records
100 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 5 distinct sources and 10 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

James O. Etheredge seat on Southern Company, effective 2025-01-01.

EffectiveEffective Jan 1, 2025E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chairman, President and Chief Executive OfficerChristopher C. WomackNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerDaniel S. TuckerNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5
Executive Vice President and Chief Legal OfficerKimberly S. GreeneNot capturedunknownSource reportedE6
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating OfficerMelissa K. CaenNot capturedunknownSource reportedE7
Executive Vice President and Chief Human Resources OfficerWilson MallardNot capturedunknownSource reportedE8

Board of directors

Evidence

12 directors published. 11 of 12 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Anthony F. Earley, Jr.IndependentLead Independent2019Operations, Environmental and SafetySource reportedE3
Christopher C. WomackNot independentChair2023None publishedSource reportedE3
David E. MeadorIndependent2023AuditAudit; Operations, Environmental and SafetyOperations, Environmental and SafetySource reportedE3
David J. GrainIndependent2012ESG, chairFinanceFinance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility · Chair; ESG · ChairNominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility, chairSource reportedE3
James O. EtheredgeIndependent2025AuditAudit; Compensation and Talent Development; FinanceCompensation and Talent DevelopmentFinanceSource reportedE3
Janaki AkellaIndependent2019AuditAudit; Business Security and ResiliencyBusiness Security and ResiliencySource reportedE3
John D. JohnsIndependent2015ESGFinanceFinance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESGNominating, Governance and Corporate ResponsibilitySource reportedE3
John M. Turner, Jr.Independent2025FinanceFinance; Operations, Environmental and SafetyOperations, Environmental and SafetySource reportedE3
Kristine L. SvinickiIndependent2021Business Security and ResiliencyBusiness Security and Resiliency; Operations, Environmental and SafetyOperations, Environmental and SafetySource reportedE3
Lizanne ThomasIndependent2023Compensation and Talent Development, chairCompensation and Talent Development · Chair; Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESGESGFinanceNominating, Governance and Corporate ResponsibilitySource reportedE3
Shantella E. CooperIndependent2023Business Security and ResiliencyBusiness Security and Resiliency; Compensation and Talent Development; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESGCompensation and Talent DevelopmentESGNominating, Governance and Corporate ResponsibilitySource reportedE3
William G. Smith, Jr.Independent2006Audit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE3

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditWilliam G. Smith, Jr.William G. Smith, Jr., David E. Meador, James O. Etheredge, Janaki AkellaNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedWilliam G. Smith, Jr.Not described in the published record
Audit; Business Security and ResiliencyNot publishedJanaki AkellaNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation and Talent Development; FinanceNot publishedJames O. Etheredgehuman_capital, financial
Audit; Operations, Environmental and SafetyNot publishedDavid E. Meadorclimate, operational
Business Security and ResiliencyNot publishedJanaki Akella, Kristine L. Svinicki, Shantella E. CooperNot described in the published record
Business Security and Resiliency; Compensation and Talent Development; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESGNot publishedShantella E. Cooperhuman_capital
Business Security and Resiliency; Operations, Environmental and SafetyNot publishedKristine L. Svinickiclimate, operational
Compensation and Talent DevelopmentLizanne ThomasLizanne Thomas, James O. Etheredge, Shantella E. Cooperhuman_capital
Compensation and Talent Development · Chair; Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESGNot publishedLizanne Thomashuman_capital, financial
ESGDavid J. GrainDavid J. Grain, John D. Johns, Lizanne Thomas, Shantella E. CooperNot described in the published record
FinanceNot publishedDavid J. Grain, James O. Etheredge, John D. Johns, John M. Turner, Jr., Lizanne Thomasfinancial
Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility · Chair; ESG · ChairNot publishedDavid J. Grainfinancial
Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESGNot publishedJohn D. Johnsfinancial
Finance; Operations, Environmental and SafetyNot publishedJohn M. Turner, Jr.climate, financial, operational
Nominating, Governance and Corporate ResponsibilityDavid J. GrainDavid J. Grain, John D. Johns, Lizanne Thomas, Shantella E. CooperNot described in the published record
Operations, Environmental and SafetyNot publishedAnthony F. Earley, Jr., David E. Meador, John M. Turner, Jr., Kristine L. Svinickiclimate, operational
Committee RecordAudit: Chair William G. Smith, Jr.; Members William G. Smith, Jr. (Chair); David E. Meador; James O. Etheredge; Janaki Akella
Committee AppointmentWilliam G. Smith, Jr.: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentDavid E. Meador: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJames O. Etheredge: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJanaki Akella: member, Audit
Committee RecordBusiness Security and Resiliency: Chair not stated; Members Janaki Akella; Kristine L. Svinicki; Shantella E. Cooper
Committee AppointmentJanaki Akella: member, Business Security and Resiliency
Committee AppointmentKristine L. Svinicki: member, Business Security and Resiliency
Committee AppointmentShantella E. Cooper: member, Business Security and Resiliency
Committee RecordCompensation and Talent Development: Chair Lizanne Thomas; Members Lizanne Thomas (Chair); James O. Etheredge; Shantella E. Cooper
Committee AppointmentLizanne Thomas: chair, Compensation and Talent Development
Committee AppointmentJames O. Etheredge: member, Compensation and Talent Development
Committee AppointmentShantella E. Cooper: member, Compensation and Talent Development
Committee RecordESG: Chair David J. Grain; Members David J. Grain (Chair); John D. Johns; Lizanne Thomas; Shantella E. Cooper
Committee AppointmentDavid J. Grain: chair, ESG
Committee AppointmentJohn D. Johns: member, ESG
Committee AppointmentLizanne Thomas: member, ESG
Committee AppointmentShantella E. Cooper: member, ESG
Committee RecordFinance: Chair not stated; Members David J. Grain; James O. Etheredge; John D. Johns; John M. Turner, Jr.; Lizanne Thomas
Committee AppointmentDavid J. Grain: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentJames O. Etheredge: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentJohn D. Johns: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentJohn M. Turner, Jr.: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentLizanne Thomas: member, Finance
Committee RecordNominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility: Chair David J. Grain; Members David J. Grain (Chair); John D. Johns; Lizanne Thomas; Shantella E. Cooper
Committee AppointmentDavid J. Grain: chair, Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility
Committee AppointmentJohn D. Johns: member, Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility
Committee AppointmentLizanne Thomas: member, Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility
Committee AppointmentShantella E. Cooper: member, Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility
Committee RecordOperations, Environmental and Safety: Chair not stated; Members Anthony F. Earley, Jr.; David E. Meador; John M. Turner, Jr.; Kristine L. Svinicki
Committee AppointmentAnthony F. Earley, Jr.: member, Operations, Environmental and Safety
Committee AppointmentDavid E. Meador: member, Operations, Environmental and Safety
Committee AppointmentJohn M. Turner, Jr.: member, Operations, Environmental and Safety
Committee AppointmentKristine L. Svinicki: member, Operations, Environmental and Safety

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerChristopher C. Womack, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingSO (NYSE)
Security ListingSOJC (NYSE)
Security ListingSOJD (NYSE)
Security ListingSOJE (NYSE)
Security ListingSOJF (NYSE)
Security ListingSOMN (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: SOMNcurrentMar 4, 1957inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameSOUTHERN CO
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.southerncompany.com
Published FactUtilities
Published Facthttps://www.southerncompany.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
10 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 11 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    SOUTHERN CO Form 10-K. SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Apr 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 12 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    SO executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    SO executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    SO executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    SO executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    SO executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 34 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • James O. Etheredge seat on Southern Company, effective 2025-01-01.
  • John M. Turner, Jr. seat on Southern Company, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation and Talent Development; Finance committee of Southern Company, effective 2025-01-01.
  • James O. Etheredge member of Audit; Compensation and Talent Development; Finance, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Finance; Operations, Environmental and Safety committee of Southern Company, effective 2025-01-01.
  • John M. Turner, Jr. member of Finance; Operations, Environmental and Safety, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Christopher C. Womack seat on Southern Company, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Christopher C. Womack chairs board Southern Company, effective 2023-01-01.
  • David E. Meador seat on Southern Company, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Lizanne Thomas seat on Southern Company, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Shantella E. Cooper seat on Southern Company, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Audit; Operations, Environmental and Safety committee of Southern Company, effective 2023-01-01.
  • David E. Meador member of Audit; Operations, Environmental and Safety, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Business Security and Resiliency; Compensation and Talent Development; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESG committee of Southern Company, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Shantella E. Cooper member of Business Security and Resiliency; Compensation and Talent Development; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESG, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Compensation and Talent Development · Chair; Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESG committee of Southern Company, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Lizanne Thomas member of Compensation and Talent Development · Chair; Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESG, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Kristine L. Svinicki seat on Southern Company, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Business Security and Resiliency; Operations, Environmental and Safety committee of Southern Company, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Kristine L. Svinicki member of Business Security and Resiliency; Operations, Environmental and Safety, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Anthony F. Earley, Jr. seat on Southern Company, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Anthony F. Earley, Jr. lead independent director of Southern Company, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Janaki Akella seat on Southern Company, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Audit; Business Security and Resiliency committee of Southern Company, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Janaki Akella member of Audit; Business Security and Resiliency, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Anthony F. Earley, Jr. member of Operations, Environmental and Safety, effective 2019-01-01.
  • John D. Johns seat on Southern Company, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESG committee of Southern Company, effective 2015-01-01.
  • John D. Johns member of Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility; ESG, effective 2015-01-01.
  • David J. Grain seat on Southern Company, effective 2012-01-01.
  • Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility · Chair; ESG · Chair committee of Southern Company, effective 2012-01-01.
  • David J. Grain member of Finance; Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility · Chair; ESG · Chair, effective 2012-01-01.
  • William G. Smith, Jr. seat on Southern Company, effective 2006-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair committee of Southern Company, effective 2006-01-01.
  • William G. Smith, Jr. member of Audit · Chair, effective 2006-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:10c20a93-b28d-4eb0-8cfb-de5e95529f2e, version public-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/southern-company

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:10c20a93-b28d-4eb0-8cfb-de5e95529f2e
  • Cite this recordSouthern Company
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/southern-company
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Southern CompanyCompany
  • Christopher C. WomackPerson
  • Daniel S. TuckerPerson
  • Kimberly S. GreenePerson
  • Melissa K. CaenPerson
  • Wilson MallardPerson
  • Anthony F. Earley, Jr.Person
  • David E. MeadorPerson
  • David J. GrainPerson
  • James O. EtheredgePerson
  • Janaki AkellaPerson
  • John D. JohnsPerson
  • John M. Turner, Jr.Person
  • Kristine L. SvinickiPerson
  • Lizanne ThomasPerson
  • Shantella E. CooperPerson
  • William G. Smith, Jr.Person
  • Sections
    OverviewSouthern Company
  • MonitoringSouthern Company
  • LeadershipSouthern Company
  • BoardSouthern Company
  • CommitteesSouthern Company
  • Control and votingSouthern Company
  • Authority to actSouthern Company
  • FinancialsSouthern Company
  • GovernanceSouthern Company
  • RiskSouthern Company
  • AI oversightSouthern Company
  • LegalSouthern Company
  • CompensationSouthern Company
  • Other published claimsSouthern Company
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.