
Alpha Profiles · Company Profile
SOUTHERN CO
Canonical company identity and public leadership record.
https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/southern-company
- Entity
- Public listing published
- Primary listing
- NYSE: SO
- Verification
- Partially verified
- Last reviewed
- 2026-10-15T04:47:54.880238+00:00
Overview
Alpha's canonical identity and public leadership record for Southern Company.
Canonical AEGIS identity graph
Executive leadership
Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.
Executive team
5 public records
Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- Date not stated
- Confidence
- 94%
- Evidence
- SO executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- Date not stated
- Confidence
- 94%
- Evidence
- SO executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- Date not stated
- Confidence
- 94%
- Evidence
- SO executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- Date not stated
- Confidence
- 94%
- Evidence
- SO executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Executive Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- Date not stated
- Confidence
- 94%
- Evidence
- SO executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Governance leadership
Boards & Committees
Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.
Record as of Oct 15, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.
Board roles
12 public records- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2023
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2019
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2023
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026

Independent Director
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2012
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2025
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2019
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026

Independent Director
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2015
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2025
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026

Independent Director
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2021
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026

Independent Director
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2023
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026

Independent Director
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2023
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026
- State
- confirmed
- Effective
- From Jan 1, 2006
- Confidence
- 85%
- Evidence
- The Southern Company DEF 14A 2026-04-03Apr 3, 2026
Committees
7 public recordsMembership and chair roles are projected from current board seats. A chair is shown only when a stored chair flag says so.
Audit
- Chair
- William G. Smith, Jr.
- Members
- William G. Smith, Jr. (Chair); David E. Meador; James O. Etheredge; Janaki Akella
Business Security and Resiliency
- Chair
- Not stated
- Members
- Janaki Akella; Kristine L. Svinicki; Shantella E. Cooper
Compensation and Talent Development
- Chair
- Lizanne Thomas
- Members
- Lizanne Thomas (Chair); James O. Etheredge; Shantella E. Cooper
ESG
- Chair
- David J. Grain
- Members
- David J. Grain (Chair); John D. Johns; Lizanne Thomas; Shantella E. Cooper
Finance
- Chair
- Not stated
- Members
- David J. Grain; James O. Etheredge; John D. Johns; John M. Turner, Jr.; Lizanne Thomas
Nominating, Governance and Corporate Responsibility
- Chair
- David J. Grain
- Members
- David J. Grain (Chair); John D. Johns; Lizanne Thomas; Shantella E. Cooper
Operations, Environmental and Safety
- Chair
- Not stated
- Members
- Anthony F. Earley, Jr.; David E. Meador; John M. Turner, Jr.; Kristine L. Svinicki
Source record
Alpha canonical company public projection
Supports Company identity, Published leadership, Entity status boundary
Reviewed 2026-10-15T04:47:54.880238+00:00
SOUTHERN CO Form 10-K
Supports Official website
Reviewed 2026-08-29T22:45:39Z








