Published mark

Synchrony Financial

NYSE: SYF. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:bdc2e362-41b2-41c6-93c9-b3f5bf4645de
SEC CIK
0001601712
Website
www.synchrony.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
Apr 29, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Alberto CasellasSince Feb 6, 2026
Chair
Jeffrey G. Naylor
Independent
11 / 1212 directors published
Published claims
554 distinct sources
Evidence records
120 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 4 distinct sources and 12 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

CEO CHANGED

Alberto Casellas executive of Synchrony Financial, effective 2026-02-06.

EffectiveEffective Feb 6, 2026E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Health WellnessAlberto CasellasFeb 2026currentSource reportedE4
Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, DigitalBart SchallerFeb 2026currentSource reportedE5
President and Chief Executive OfficerBrian DoublesFeb 2026currentSource reportedE6
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerBrian WenzelFeb 2026currentSource reportedE7
Executive Vice President and Chief Technology and Operating OfficerCarol JuelFeb 2026currentSource reportedE8
Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Diversified ValueCourtney GentlemanFeb 2026currentSource reportedE9
Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, LifestyleDarrell OwensFeb 2026currentSource reportedE10

Board of directors

Evidence

12 directors published. 11 of 12 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Arthur W. Coviello JrIndependent2015RiskRisk; Technology · ChairTechnology, chairSource reportedE3
Brian DoublesNot independent2021None publishedSource reportedE3
Daniel ColaoIndependent2024Audit, chairAudit · Chair; RiskRiskSource reportedE3
Deborah EllingerIndependent2025RiskRisk; TechnologyTechnologySource reportedE3
Ellen M. ZaneIndependent2019AuditAudit; Management Development and CompensationManagement Development and CompensationSource reportedE3
Fernando AguirreIndependent2019Management Development and CompensationManagement Development and Compensation; Nominating and Corporate Governance · ChairNominating and Corporate Governance, chairSource reportedE3
Jeffrey G. NaylorIndependentChair2014AuditAudit; Management Development and Compensation, chairManagement Development and CompensationSource reportedE3
Kamila ChytilIndependent2022AuditAudit; TechnologyTechnologySource reportedE3
Laurel J. RichieIndependent2015Management Development and Compensation, chairManagement Development and Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNominating and Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE3
P.W. Bill ParkerIndependent2020None publishedSource reportedE3
Paget L. AlvesIndependent2015AuditAudit; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNominating and Corporate GovernanceSource reportedE3
Roy A. GuthrieIndependent2014Risk, chairRisk · Chair; TechnologyTechnologySource reportedE3

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditDaniel ColaoDaniel Colao, Ellen M. Zane, Jeffrey G. Naylor, Kamila Chytil, Paget L. AlvesNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; RiskNot publishedDaniel ColaoNot described in the published record
Audit; Management Development and CompensationJeffrey G. NaylorJeffrey G. Naylor, Ellen M. ZaneNot described in the published record
Audit; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNot publishedPaget L. AlvesNot described in the published record
Audit; TechnologyNot publishedKamila ChytilNot described in the published record
Management Development and CompensationLaurel J. RichieLaurel J. Richie, Ellen M. Zane, Fernando Aguirre, Jeffrey G. NaylorNot described in the published record
Management Development and Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Corporate GovernanceNot publishedLaurel J. RichieNot described in the published record
Management Development and Compensation; Nominating and Corporate Governance · ChairNot publishedFernando AguirreNot described in the published record
Nominating and Corporate GovernanceFernando AguirreFernando Aguirre, Laurel J. Richie, Paget L. AlvesNot described in the published record
RiskRoy A. GuthrieRoy A. Guthrie, Arthur W. Coviello Jr, Daniel Colao, Deborah EllingerNot described in the published record
Risk · Chair; TechnologyNot publishedRoy A. GuthrieNot described in the published record
Risk; TechnologyNot publishedDeborah EllingerNot described in the published record
Risk; Technology · ChairNot publishedArthur W. Coviello JrNot described in the published record
TechnologyArthur W. Coviello JrArthur W. Coviello Jr, Deborah Ellinger, Kamila Chytil, Roy A. GuthrieNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Daniel Colao; Members Daniel Colao (Chair); Ellen M. Zane; Jeffrey G. Naylor; Kamila Chytil; Paget L. Alves
Committee AppointmentDaniel Colao: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentEllen M. Zane: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJeffrey G. Naylor: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKamila Chytil: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentPaget L. Alves: member, Audit
Committee RecordManagement Development and Compensation: Chair Laurel J. Richie; Members Laurel J. Richie (Chair); Ellen M. Zane; Fernando Aguirre; Jeffrey G. Naylor
Committee AppointmentLaurel J. Richie: chair, Management Development and Compensation
Committee AppointmentEllen M. Zane: member, Management Development and Compensation
Committee AppointmentFernando Aguirre: member, Management Development and Compensation
Committee AppointmentJeffrey G. Naylor: member, Management Development and Compensation
Committee RecordNominating and Corporate Governance: Chair Fernando Aguirre; Members Fernando Aguirre (Chair); Laurel J. Richie; Paget L. Alves
Committee AppointmentFernando Aguirre: chair, Nominating and Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentLaurel J. Richie: member, Nominating and Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentPaget L. Alves: member, Nominating and Corporate Governance
Committee RecordRisk: Chair Roy A. Guthrie; Members Roy A. Guthrie (Chair); Arthur W. Coviello Jr; Daniel Colao; Deborah Ellinger
Committee AppointmentRoy A. Guthrie: chair, Risk
Committee AppointmentArthur W. Coviello Jr: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentDaniel Colao: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentDeborah Ellinger: member, Risk
Committee RecordTechnology: Chair Arthur W. Coviello Jr; Members Arthur W. Coviello Jr (Chair); Deborah Ellinger; Kamila Chytil; Roy A. Guthrie
Committee AppointmentArthur W. Coviello Jr: chair, Technology
Committee AppointmentDeborah Ellinger: member, Technology
Committee AppointmentKamila Chytil: member, Technology
Committee AppointmentRoy A. Guthrie: member, Technology

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerAlberto Casellas, Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Health Wellness, from Feb 6, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingSYF (NYSE)
Security ListingSYF-PA (NYSE)
Security ListingSYF-PB (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: SYF-PBcurrentNov 18, 2015inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameSynchrony Financial
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.synchrony.com
Published FactFinancials
Published Facthttps://www.synchrony.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
12 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 8 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    Synchrony Financial Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-06). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Apr 29, 2026. Retrieved Apr 29, 2026. Cited by 12 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Feb 6, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Feb 6, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Feb 6, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Feb 6, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Feb 6, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Feb 6, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Feb 6, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 25 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Alberto Casellas executive of Synchrony Financial, effective 2026-02-06.
  • Bart Schaller executive of Synchrony Financial, effective 2026-02-06.
  • Brian Doubles executive of Synchrony Financial, effective 2026-02-06.
  • Brian Wenzel executive of Synchrony Financial, effective 2026-02-06.
  • Carol Juel executive of Synchrony Financial, effective 2026-02-06.
  • Courtney Gentleman executive of Synchrony Financial, effective 2026-02-06.
  • Darrell Owens executive of Synchrony Financial, effective 2026-02-06.
  • Deborah Ellinger seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Risk; Technology committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Deborah Ellinger member of Risk; Technology, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Daniel Colao seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Risk committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Daniel Colao member of Audit · Chair; Risk, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Kamila Chytil seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Audit; Technology committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Kamila Chytil member of Audit; Technology, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Brian Doubles seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2021-01-01.
  • P.W. Bill Parker seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Ellen M. Zane seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Fernando Aguirre seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Ellen M. Zane member of Audit; Management Development and Compensation, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Management Development and Compensation; Nominating and Corporate Governance · Chair committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Fernando Aguirre member of Management Development and Compensation; Nominating and Corporate Governance · Chair, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Arthur W. Coviello Jr seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Laurel J. Richie seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Paget L. Alves seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating and Corporate Governance committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Paget L. Alves member of Audit; Nominating and Corporate Governance, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Management Development and Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Corporate Governance committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Laurel J. Richie member of Management Development and Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Corporate Governance, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Risk; Technology · Chair committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Arthur W. Coviello Jr member of Risk; Technology · Chair, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Jeffrey G. Naylor seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Jeffrey G. Naylor chairs board Synchrony Financial, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Roy A. Guthrie seat on Synchrony Financial, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Audit; Management Development and Compensation committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Jeffrey G. Naylor chairs Audit; Management Development and Compensation, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Risk · Chair; Technology committee of Synchrony Financial, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Roy A. Guthrie member of Risk · Chair; Technology, effective 2014-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:bdc2e362-41b2-41c6-93c9-b3f5bf4645de, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/synchrony-financial

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:bdc2e362-41b2-41c6-93c9-b3f5bf4645de
  • Cite this recordSynchrony Financial
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/synchrony-financial
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Synchrony FinancialCompany
  • Alberto CasellasPerson
  • Bart SchallerPerson
  • Brian DoublesPerson
  • Brian WenzelPerson
  • Carol JuelPerson
  • Courtney GentlemanPerson
  • Darrell OwensPerson
  • Arthur W. Coviello JrPerson
  • Daniel ColaoPerson
  • Deborah EllingerPerson
  • Ellen M. ZanePerson
  • Fernando AguirrePerson
  • Jeffrey G. NaylorPerson
  • Kamila ChytilPerson
  • Laurel J. RichiePerson
  • P.W. Bill ParkerPerson
  • Paget L. AlvesPerson
  • Roy A. GuthriePerson
  • Sections
    OverviewSynchrony Financial
  • MonitoringSynchrony Financial
  • LeadershipSynchrony Financial
  • BoardSynchrony Financial
  • CommitteesSynchrony Financial
  • Control and votingSynchrony Financial
  • Authority to actSynchrony Financial
  • FinancialsSynchrony Financial
  • GovernanceSynchrony Financial
  • RiskSynchrony Financial
  • AI oversightSynchrony Financial
  • LegalSynchrony Financial
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.