Published mark

SouthState Bank Corp

NYSE: SSB. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:e1a7c9fe-3fdb-43e9-bf45-e4bc1454ab1e
SEC CIK
0000764038
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
Mar 3, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
John C. CorbettSince Feb 20, 2026
Chair
Not published
Independent
9 / 1111 directors published
Published claims
443 distinct sources
Evidence records
60 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 3 distinct sources and 6 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

CEO CHANGED

John C. Corbett executive of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2026-02-20.

EffectiveEffective Feb 20, 2026E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chief Executive Officer and DirectorJohn C. CorbettFeb 2026currentSource reportedE3
Executive Vice President and Principal Accounting OfficerSara G. AranaFeb 2026currentSource reportedE4
Senior Executive Vice President, Chief Financial OfficerWilliam E. Matthews, VFeb 2026currentSource reportedE5

Board of directors

Evidence

11 directors published. 9 of 11 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
David G. SalyersIndependent2020AuditAudit; Compensation; RiskCompensationRiskSource reportedE2
David R. BrooksNot independent2025None publishedSource reportedE2
G. Ruffner Page, Jr.Independent2020AuditAudit; Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceCompensationNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
G. Stacy SmithIndependent2025AuditAudit; RiskRiskSource reportedE2
Janet P. FroetscherIndependent2025AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE2
John C. CorbettNot independent2020None publishedSource reportedE2
Joshua A. SnivelyIndependent2020AuditAudit; Compensation · ChairCompensation, chairSource reportedE2
Merriann MetzIndependent2024Nominating and GovernanceNominating and Governance; RiskRiskSource reportedE2
Ronald M. Cofield, Sr.Independent2022Audit, chairAudit · Chair; RiskRiskSource reportedE2
Shantella E. CooperIndependent2022AuditAudit; Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance; RiskCompensation, chairNominating and GovernanceRiskSource reportedE2
William Knox Pou, Jr.Independent2020Nominating and Governance, chairNominating and Governance · Chair; RiskRiskSource reportedE2

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditRonald M. Cofield, Sr.Ronald M. Cofield, Sr., David G. Salyers, G. Ruffner Page, Jr., G. Stacy Smith, Janet P. Froetscher, Joshua A. Snively, Shantella E. CooperNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; RiskNot publishedRonald M. Cofield, Sr.Not described in the published record
Audit; CompensationNot publishedJanet P. FroetscherNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation · ChairNot publishedJoshua A. SnivelyNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance; RiskNot publishedShantella E. CooperNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedG. Ruffner Page, Jr.Not described in the published record
Audit; Compensation; RiskNot publishedDavid G. SalyersNot described in the published record
Audit; RiskNot publishedG. Stacy SmithNot described in the published record
CompensationShantella E. CooperJoshua A. Snively, Shantella E. Cooper, David G. Salyers, G. Ruffner Page, Jr., Janet P. FroetscherNot described in the published record
Nominating and GovernanceWilliam Knox Pou, Jr.William Knox Pou, Jr., G. Ruffner Page, Jr., Merriann Metz, Shantella E. CooperNot described in the published record
Nominating and Governance · Chair; RiskNot publishedWilliam Knox Pou, Jr.Not described in the published record
Nominating and Governance; RiskNot publishedMerriann MetzNot described in the published record
RiskNot publishedDavid G. Salyers, G. Stacy Smith, Merriann Metz, Ronald M. Cofield, Sr., Shantella E. Cooper, William Knox Pou, Jr.Not described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Ronald M. Cofield, Sr.; Members Ronald M. Cofield, Sr. (Chair); David G. Salyers; G. Ruffner Page, Jr.; G. Stacy Smith; Janet P. Froetscher; Joshua A. Snively; Shantella E. Cooper
Committee AppointmentRonald M. Cofield, Sr.: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentDavid G. Salyers: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentG. Ruffner Page, Jr.: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentG. Stacy Smith: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJanet P. Froetscher: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJoshua A. Snively: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentShantella E. Cooper: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Joshua A. Snively; Shantella E. Cooper; Members Joshua A. Snively (Chair); Shantella E. Cooper (Chair); David G. Salyers; G. Ruffner Page, Jr.; Janet P. Froetscher
Committee AppointmentJoshua A. Snively: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentShantella E. Cooper: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentDavid G. Salyers: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentG. Ruffner Page, Jr.: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentJanet P. Froetscher: member, Compensation
Committee RecordNominating and Governance: Chair William Knox Pou, Jr.; Members William Knox Pou, Jr. (Chair); G. Ruffner Page, Jr.; Merriann Metz; Shantella E. Cooper
Committee AppointmentWilliam Knox Pou, Jr.: chair, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentG. Ruffner Page, Jr.: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentMerriann Metz: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentShantella E. Cooper: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee RecordRisk: Chair not stated; Members David G. Salyers; G. Stacy Smith; Merriann Metz; Ronald M. Cofield, Sr.; Shantella E. Cooper; William Knox Pou, Jr.
Committee AppointmentDavid G. Salyers: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentG. Stacy Smith: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentMerriann Metz: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentRonald M. Cofield, Sr.: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentShantella E. Cooper: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentWilliam Knox Pou, Jr.: member, Risk

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerJohn C. Corbett, Chief Executive Officer and Director, from Feb 20, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Security ListingSSB (NYSE)
Index membershipsNo current membership is published in Alpha's tracked index universe.This is not evidence that the company is absent from every market index.
None publishedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameSouthState Bank Corp
Entity StatusPublic listing published

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Markets externalNot reviewed. Auditors, advisors, investors and regulators form the external ecosystem.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
6 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 4 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    sec proxy. Published Mar 3, 2026. Retrieved Jul 12, 2026. Cited by 11 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Feb 20, 2026. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Feb 20, 2026. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Feb 20, 2026. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 26 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • John C. Corbett executive of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2026-02-20.
  • Sara G. Arana executive of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2026-02-20.
  • William E. Matthews, V executive of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2026-02-20.
  • David R. Brooks seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2025-01-01.
  • G. Stacy Smith seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Janet P. Froetscher seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Janet P. Froetscher member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Audit; Risk committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2025-01-01.
  • G. Stacy Smith member of Audit; Risk, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Merriann Metz seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Nominating and Governance; Risk committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Merriann Metz member of Nominating and Governance; Risk, effective 2024-01-01.
  • Ronald M. Cofield, Sr. seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Shantella E. Cooper seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Risk committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Ronald M. Cofield, Sr. member of Audit · Chair; Risk, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance; Risk committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Shantella E. Cooper member of Audit; Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance; Risk, effective 2022-01-01.
  • David G. Salyers seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • G. Ruffner Page, Jr. seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • John C. Corbett seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Joshua A. Snively seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • William Knox Pou, Jr. seat on SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation · Chair committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Joshua A. Snively member of Audit; Compensation · Chair, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • G. Ruffner Page, Jr. member of Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation; Risk committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • David G. Salyers member of Audit; Compensation; Risk, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Nominating and Governance · Chair; Risk committee of SouthState Bank Corp, effective 2020-01-01.
  • William Knox Pou, Jr. member of Nominating and Governance · Chair; Risk, effective 2020-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:e1a7c9fe-3fdb-43e9-bf45-e4bc1454ab1e, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/southstate-bank-corp

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:e1a7c9fe-3fdb-43e9-bf45-e4bc1454ab1e
  • Cite this recordSouthState Bank Corp
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/southstate-bank-corp
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    SouthState Bank CorpCompany
  • John C. CorbettPerson
  • Sara G. AranaPerson
  • William E. Matthews, VPerson
  • David G. SalyersPerson
  • David R. BrooksPerson
  • G. Ruffner Page, Jr.Person
  • G. Stacy SmithPerson
  • Janet P. FroetscherPerson
  • Joshua A. SnivelyPerson
  • Merriann MetzPerson
  • Ronald M. Cofield, Sr.Person
  • Shantella E. CooperPerson
  • William Knox Pou, Jr.Person
  • Sections
    OverviewSouthState Bank Corp
  • MonitoringSouthState Bank Corp
  • LeadershipSouthState Bank Corp
  • BoardSouthState Bank Corp
  • CommitteesSouthState Bank Corp
  • Control and votingSouthState Bank Corp
  • Authority to actSouthState Bank Corp
  • FinancialsSouthState Bank Corp
  • GovernanceSouthState Bank Corp
  • RiskSouthState Bank Corp
  • AI oversightSouthState Bank Corp
  • LegalSouthState Bank Corp
  • CompensationSouthState Bank Corp
  • Other published claimsSouthState Bank Corp
  • Coverage gapsSouthState Bank Corp
  • Linked peopleSouthState Bank Corp
  • Subject and correctionsSouthState Bank Corp
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.