Published mark

Sherwin-Williams

SHERWIN WILLIAMS CO

NYSE: SHW. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:7431fde4-241f-4d9f-b611-7f56abdc3e1e
SEC CIK
0000089800
Website
www.sherwin.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
Mar 11, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Heidi G. PetzSince Feb 19, 2026
Chair
Heidi G. PetzLead independent: Jeff M. Fettig
Independent
Not published8 directors published
Published claims
444 distinct sources
Evidence records
240 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 4 distinct sources and 24 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

CFO CHANGED

Benjamin E. Meisenzahl executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.

EffectiveEffective Feb 19, 2026E12

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Senior Vice President Finance and Chief Financial OfficerBenjamin E. MeisenzahlFeb 2026currentSource reportedE12
Senior Vice President Corporate Strategy and DevelopmentBryan J. YoungFeb 2026currentSource reportedE13
President General Manager, Global Supply Chain Division, Consumer Brands GroupColin M. DavieFeb 2026currentSource reportedE14
Chair, President and Chief Executive OfficerHeidi G. PetzFeb 2026currentSource reportedE15
Senior Vice President Enterprise Finance and Chief Accounting OfficerJ. Paul LangFeb 2026currentSource reportedE16
Senior Vice President Investor Relations and Corporate CommunicationsJames R. JayeFeb 2026currentSource reportedE17
President, Global ArchitecturalJustin T. BinnsFeb 2026currentSource reportedE18
President, Global IndustrialKarl J. JorgenrudFeb 2026currentSource reportedE19
Senior Vice President Chief Human Resources OfficerMarlena K. BoyceFeb 2026currentSource reportedE20
Senior Vice President Chief Legal Officer and SecretaryMary L. GarceauFeb 2026currentSource reportedE21
President, Consumer Brands GroupTodd D. ReaFeb 2026currentSource reportedE22

Board of directors

Evidence

8 directors published. Independence determinations are not published for every director.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Aaron M. PowellIndependence not published2021CompensationSource reportedE4
Heidi G. PetzIndependence not publishedChair2023None publishedSource reportedE3
Jeff M. FettigIndependence not publishedLead Independent2019AuditAudit; NominatingNominatingSource reportedE5
Kenneth J. AndersonIndependence not published2019Compensation, chairCompensation · Chair; NominatingNominatingSource reportedE6
Marta R. StewartIndependence not published2021Audit, chairAudit · Chair; NominatingNominatingSource reportedE7
Matthew Thornton, IIIIndependence not published2014CompensationCompensation; Nominating · ChairNominating, chairSource reportedE8
Michael H. ThamanIndependence not published2017AuditSource reportedE9
Robert J. GamgortIndependence not published2025AuditSource reportedE10
Thomas L. WilliamsIndependentNot publishedCompensationSource reportedE11

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditMarta R. StewartMarta R. Stewart, Jeff M. Fettig, Michael H. Thaman, Robert J. GamgortNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; NominatingNot publishedMarta R. StewartNot described in the published record
Audit; NominatingNot publishedJeff M. FettigNot described in the published record
CompensationKenneth J. AndersonKenneth J. Anderson, Aaron M. Powell, Matthew Thornton, III, Thomas L. WilliamsNot described in the published record
Compensation · Chair; NominatingNot publishedKenneth J. AndersonNot described in the published record
Compensation; Nominating · ChairNot publishedMatthew Thornton, IIINot described in the published record
NominatingMatthew Thornton, IIIMatthew Thornton, III, Jeff M. Fettig, Kenneth J. Anderson, Marta R. StewartNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Marta R. Stewart; Members Marta R. Stewart (Chair); Jeff M. Fettig; Michael H. Thaman; Robert J. Gamgort
Committee AppointmentMarta R. Stewart: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentJeff M. Fettig: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMichael H. Thaman: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentRobert J. Gamgort: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Kenneth J. Anderson; Members Kenneth J. Anderson (Chair); Aaron M. Powell; Matthew Thornton, III; Thomas L. Williams
Committee AppointmentKenneth J. Anderson: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentAaron M. Powell: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentMatthew Thornton, III: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentThomas L. Williams: member, Compensation
Committee RecordNominating: Chair Matthew Thornton, III; Members Matthew Thornton, III (Chair); Jeff M. Fettig; Kenneth J. Anderson; Marta R. Stewart
Committee AppointmentMatthew Thornton, III: chair, Nominating
Committee AppointmentJeff M. Fettig: member, Nominating
Committee AppointmentKenneth J. Anderson: member, Nominating
Committee AppointmentMarta R. Stewart: member, Nominating

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerHeidi G. Petz, Chair, President and Chief Executive Officer, from Feb 19, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingSHW (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: SHWcurrentJun 30, 1964inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameSHERWIN WILLIAMS CO
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.sherwin.com
Published FactMaterials
Published Facthttps://www.sherwin.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
24 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    SHERWIN WILLIAMS CO Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-19). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec proxy. Published Mar 11, 2026. Retrieved May 1, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  20. E20
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  21. E21
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  22. E22
    sec filing. Published Feb 19, 2026. Retrieved May 9, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  23. E23
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 15 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  24. E24
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Benjamin E. Meisenzahl executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Bryan J. Young executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Colin M. Davie executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Heidi G. Petz executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • J. Paul Lang executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • James R. Jaye executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Justin T. Binns executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Karl J. Jorgenrud executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Marlena K. Boyce executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Mary L. Garceau executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Todd D. Rea executive of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2026-02-19.
  • Robert J. Gamgort seat on Sherwin-Williams, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Heidi G. Petz seat on Sherwin-Williams, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Heidi G. Petz chairs board Sherwin-Williams, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Aaron M. Powell seat on Sherwin-Williams, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Marta R. Stewart seat on Sherwin-Williams, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Nominating committee of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Marta R. Stewart member of Audit · Chair; Nominating, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Aaron M. Powell member of Compensation, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Jeff M. Fettig seat on Sherwin-Williams, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Jeff M. Fettig lead independent director of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Kenneth J. Anderson seat on Sherwin-Williams, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating committee of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Jeff M. Fettig member of Audit; Nominating, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Compensation · Chair; Nominating committee of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Kenneth J. Anderson member of Compensation · Chair; Nominating, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Michael H. Thaman seat on Sherwin-Williams, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Matthew Thornton, III seat on Sherwin-Williams, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Compensation; Nominating · Chair committee of Sherwin-Williams, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Matthew Thornton, III member of Compensation; Nominating · Chair, effective 2014-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:7431fde4-241f-4d9f-b611-7f56abdc3e1e, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/sherwin-williams-co

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:7431fde4-241f-4d9f-b611-7f56abdc3e1e
  • Cite this recordSherwin-Williams
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/sherwin-williams-co
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Sherwin-WilliamsCompany
  • Benjamin E. MeisenzahlPerson
  • Bryan J. YoungPerson
  • Colin M. DaviePerson
  • Heidi G. PetzPerson
  • J. Paul LangPerson
  • James R. JayePerson
  • Justin T. BinnsPerson
  • Karl J. JorgenrudPerson
  • Marlena K. BoycePerson
  • Mary L. GarceauPerson
  • Todd D. ReaPerson
  • Aaron M. PowellPerson
  • Jeff M. FettigPerson
  • Kenneth J. AndersonPerson
  • Marta R. StewartPerson
  • Matthew Thornton, IIIPerson
  • Michael H. ThamanPerson
  • Robert J. GamgortPerson
  • Thomas L. WilliamsPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewSherwin-Williams
  • MonitoringSherwin-Williams
  • LeadershipSherwin-Williams
  • BoardSherwin-Williams
  • CommitteesSherwin-Williams
  • Control and votingSherwin-Williams
  • Authority to actSherwin-Williams
  • FinancialsSherwin-Williams
  • GovernanceSherwin-Williams
  • RiskSherwin-Williams
  • AI oversightSherwin-Williams
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.