Published mark

M&T BANK CORP

NYSE: MTB. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:f3b693e6-6861-4a30-a20c-1f4fbbca4115
SEC CIK
0000036270
Website
www.mtb.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
Mar 10, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Ren F. JonesSince Feb 18, 2026
Chair
Not published
Independent
11 / 1212 directors published
Published claims
584 distinct sources
Evidence records
140 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 4 distinct sources and 14 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

EXECUTIVE APPOINTED

Christopher E. Kay executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.

EffectiveEffective Feb 18, 2026E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Senior Executive Vice President of M&T and M&T Bank, Head of Enterprise PlatformsChristopher E. KayFeb 2026currentSource reportedE4
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of M&T and M&T BankDaryl N. BibleFeb 2026currentSource reportedE5
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Auditor of M&T and M&T BankJulianne UrbanFeb 2026currentSource reportedE6
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer of M&T and M&T BankLaura P. O'HaraFeb 2026currentSource reportedE7
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Technology and Operations Officer of M&T and M&T BankMichael A. WislerFeb 2026currentSource reportedE8
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Risk Officer of M&T and M&T BankNeeraj SinghFeb 2026currentSource reportedE9
Senior Executive Vice President of M&T and M&T Bank, Head of Commercial BankingPeter G. D'ArcyFeb 2026currentSource reportedE10
Chief Executive Officer, Chairman of the Board of M&T and M&T BankRen F. JonesFeb 2026currentSource reportedE11
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of M&T and M&T Bank, Western New York Regional President of M&T BankTracy S. WoodrowFeb 2026currentSource reportedE12

Board of directors

Evidence

12 directors published. 11 of 12 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Carlton J. CharlesIndependent2023Nomination and GovernanceNomination and Governance; RiskRiskSource reportedE3
Denis J. SalamoneIndependent2015Audit, chairAudit · Chair; ExecutiveExecutiveSource reportedE3
Herbert L. WashingtonIndependent1996AuditAudit; Compensation and Human CapitalCompensation and Human CapitalSource reportedE3
Jane P. ChwickIndependent2022AuditSource reportedE3
John P. BarnesIndependent2022ExecutiveExecutive; RiskRiskSource reportedE3
Kirk W. WaltersIndependent2022RiskSource reportedE3
Leslie V. GodridgeIndependent2020Nomination and GovernanceNomination and Governance; RiskRiskSource reportedE3
Melinda R. RichIndependent2009ExecutiveExecutive; Nomination and Governance · ChairNomination and Governance, chairSource reportedE3
Ren F. JonesNot independent2017ExecutiveSource reportedE3
Richard H. Ledgett, Jr.Independent2017RiskSource reportedE3
Rudina SeseriIndependent2020Compensation and Human CapitalSource reportedE3
William F. Cruger, Jr.Independent2022AuditAudit; Compensation and Human Capital · Chair; ExecutiveCompensation and Human Capital, chairExecutiveSource reportedE3

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditDenis J. SalamoneDenis J. Salamone, Herbert L. Washington, Jane P. Chwick, William F. Cruger, Jr.Not described in the published record
Audit · Chair; ExecutiveNot publishedDenis J. SalamoneNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation and Human CapitalNot publishedHerbert L. Washingtonhuman_capital, financial
Audit; Compensation and Human Capital · Chair; ExecutiveNot publishedWilliam F. Cruger, Jr.human_capital, financial
Compensation and Human CapitalWilliam F. Cruger, Jr.William F. Cruger, Jr., Herbert L. Washington, Rudina Seserihuman_capital, financial
ExecutiveNot publishedDenis J. Salamone, John P. Barnes, Melinda R. Rich, Ren F. Jones, William F. Cruger, Jr.Not described in the published record
Executive; Nomination and Governance · ChairNot publishedMelinda R. RichNot described in the published record
Executive; RiskNot publishedJohn P. BarnesNot described in the published record
Nomination and GovernanceMelinda R. RichMelinda R. Rich, Carlton J. Charles, Leslie V. GodridgeNot described in the published record
Nomination and Governance; RiskNot publishedCarlton J. Charles, Leslie V. GodridgeNot described in the published record
RiskNot publishedCarlton J. Charles, John P. Barnes, Kirk W. Walters, Leslie V. Godridge, Richard H. Ledgett, Jr.Not described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Denis J. Salamone; Members Denis J. Salamone (Chair); Herbert L. Washington; Jane P. Chwick; William F. Cruger, Jr.
Committee AppointmentDenis J. Salamone: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentHerbert L. Washington: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJane P. Chwick: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentWilliam F. Cruger, Jr.: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation and Human Capital: Chair William F. Cruger, Jr.; Members William F. Cruger, Jr. (Chair); Herbert L. Washington; Rudina Seseri
Committee AppointmentWilliam F. Cruger, Jr.: chair, Compensation and Human Capital
Committee AppointmentHerbert L. Washington: member, Compensation and Human Capital
Committee AppointmentRudina Seseri: member, Compensation and Human Capital
Committee RecordExecutive: Chair not stated; Members Denis J. Salamone; John P. Barnes; Melinda R. Rich; Ren F. Jones; William F. Cruger, Jr.
Committee AppointmentDenis J. Salamone: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentJohn P. Barnes: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentMelinda R. Rich: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentRen F. Jones: member, Executive
Committee AppointmentWilliam F. Cruger, Jr.: member, Executive
Committee RecordNomination and Governance: Chair Melinda R. Rich; Members Melinda R. Rich (Chair); Carlton J. Charles; Leslie V. Godridge
Committee AppointmentMelinda R. Rich: chair, Nomination and Governance
Committee AppointmentCarlton J. Charles: member, Nomination and Governance
Committee AppointmentLeslie V. Godridge: member, Nomination and Governance
Committee RecordRisk: Chair not stated; Members Carlton J. Charles; John P. Barnes; Kirk W. Walters; Leslie V. Godridge; Richard H. Ledgett, Jr.
Committee AppointmentCarlton J. Charles: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentJohn P. Barnes: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentKirk W. Walters: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentLeslie V. Godridge: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentRichard H. Ledgett, Jr.: member, Risk

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerRen F. Jones, Chief Executive Officer, Chairman of the Board of M&T and M&T Bank, from Feb 18, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingMTB (NYSE)
Security ListingMTB-PH (NYSE)
Security ListingMTB-PJ (NYSE)
Security ListingMTB-PK (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: MTBcurrentFeb 23, 2004inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameM&T BANK CORP
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.mtb.com
Published FactFinancials
Published Facthttps://www.mtb.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
14 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 9 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    M&T BANK CORP Form 10-K. SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Mar 10, 2026. Retrieved Mar 23, 2026. Cited by 12 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Feb 18, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 25 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Christopher E. Kay executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Daryl N. Bible executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Julianne Urban executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Laura P. O'Hara executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Michael A. Wisler executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Neeraj Singh executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Peter G. D'Arcy executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Ren F. Jones executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Tracy S. Woodrow executive of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2026-02-18.
  • Carlton J. Charles seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Nomination and Governance; Risk committee of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Carlton J. Charles member of Nomination and Governance; Risk, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Jane P. Chwick seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2022-01-01.
  • John P. Barnes seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Kirk W. Walters seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2022-01-01.
  • William F. Cruger, Jr. seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation and Human Capital · Chair; Executive committee of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2022-01-01.
  • William F. Cruger, Jr. member of Audit; Compensation and Human Capital · Chair; Executive, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Executive; Risk committee of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2022-01-01.
  • John P. Barnes member of Executive; Risk, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Leslie V. Godridge seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Rudina Seseri seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Leslie V. Godridge member of Nomination and Governance; Risk, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Ren F. Jones seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Richard H. Ledgett, Jr. seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Denis J. Salamone seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Executive committee of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Denis J. Salamone member of Audit · Chair; Executive, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Melinda R. Rich seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Executive; Nomination and Governance · Chair committee of M&T BANK CORP, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Melinda R. Rich member of Executive; Nomination and Governance · Chair, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Herbert L. Washington seat on M&T BANK CORP, effective 1996-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation and Human Capital committee of M&T BANK CORP, effective 1996-01-01.
  • Herbert L. Washington member of Audit; Compensation and Human Capital, effective 1996-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:f3b693e6-6861-4a30-a20c-1f4fbbca4115, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/m-t-bank-corp

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:f3b693e6-6861-4a30-a20c-1f4fbbca4115
  • Cite this recordM&T BANK CORP
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/m-t-bank-corp
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    M&T BANK CORPCompany
  • Christopher E. KayPerson
  • Daryl N. BiblePerson
  • Julianne UrbanPerson
  • Laura P. O'HaraPerson
  • Michael A. WislerPerson
  • Neeraj SinghPerson
  • Peter G. D'ArcyPerson
  • Ren F. JonesPerson
  • Tracy S. WoodrowPerson
  • Carlton J. CharlesPerson
  • Denis J. SalamonePerson
  • Herbert L. WashingtonPerson
  • Jane P. ChwickPerson
  • John P. BarnesPerson
  • Kirk W. WaltersPerson
  • Leslie V. GodridgePerson
  • Melinda R. RichPerson
  • Richard H. Ledgett, Jr.Person
  • Rudina SeseriPerson
  • William F. Cruger, Jr.Person
  • Sections
    OverviewM&T BANK CORP
  • MonitoringM&T BANK CORP
  • LeadershipM&T BANK CORP
  • BoardM&T BANK CORP
  • CommitteesM&T BANK CORP
  • Control and votingM&T BANK CORP
  • Authority to actM&T BANK CORP
  • FinancialsM&T BANK CORP
  • GovernanceM&T BANK CORP
  • RiskM&T BANK CORP
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.