Published mark

Kroger

KROGER CO

NYSE: KR. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:0c26ec8d-45bf-4d19-ad9c-2350f5026243
SEC CIK
0000056873
Website
www.kroger.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
May 13, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Gregory S. ForanChief Executive Officer
Chair
Ronald L. SargentLead independent: Mark S. Sutton
Independent
8 / 1013 directors published
Published claims
566 distinct sources
Evidence records
200 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 6 distinct sources and 20 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Mitchell R. Butier seat on Kroger, effective 2026-05-13.

EffectiveEffective May 13, 2026E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Group Vice President, Corporate ControllerBrian W. NicholsNot capturedunknownSource reportedE7
Vice President and TreasurerCarin L. FikeNot capturedunknownSource reportedE8
Executive Vice PresidentDavid J. C. KennerleyNot capturedunknownSource reportedE9
Executive Vice President, General Counsel and SecretaryGeorge H. VincentNot capturedunknownSource reportedE10
Chief Executive OfficerGregory S. ForanNot capturedunknownSource reportedE11
Senior Vice PresidentJoseph M. KelleyNot capturedunknownSource reportedE12
Executive Vice President and Chief Merchant and Marketing OfficerMary E. AdcockNot capturedunknownSource reportedE13
Group Vice President of Strategy, Customer Growth and LoyaltyMegan N. ShafferNot capturedunknownSource reportedE14
Executive Vice President and Chief People OfficerTimothy A. MassaNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15
Senior Vice PresidentValerie L. JabbarNot capturedunknownSource reportedE16
Senior Vice PresidentVictor R. SmithNot capturedunknownSource reportedE17
Executive Vice President and Chief Digital OfficerYael CossetNot capturedunknownSource reportedE18

Board of directors

Evidence

13 directors published. 8 of 10 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Amanda SourryIndependence not published2021None publishedSource reportedE4
Anne GatesIndependent2015Audit, chairAudit · Chair; Corporate GovernanceCorporate GovernanceSource reportedE3
Ashok VemuriIndependent2019AuditAudit; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE3
Clyde R. MooreIndependence not published1997None publishedSource reportedE5
Elaine L. ChaoIndependence not published2021None publishedSource reportedE6
Gregory S. ForanNot independent2026None publishedSource reportedE3
J. Amanda Sourry KnoxIndependent2021Compensation and Talent, chairCompensation and Talent · Chair; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE3
Karen M. HoguetIndependent2019AuditAudit; FinanceFinanceSource reportedE3
Kevin M. BrownIndependent2021Compensation and TalentCompensation and Talent; Public Responsibilities; ESGESGPublic ResponsibilitiesSource reportedE3
Mark S. SuttonIndependentLead Independent2017Compensation and TalentCompensation and Talent; Corporate Governance · ChairCorporate Governance, chairSource reportedE3
Mitchell R. ButierIndependent2026None publishedSource reportedE3
Nora A. AufreiterIndependent2014ESG, chairFinanceFinance; Public Responsibilities; ESG · ChairPublic ResponsibilitiesSource reportedE3
Ronald L. SargentNot independentChair2006None publishedSource reportedE3

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditAnne GatesAnne Gates, Ashok Vemuri, Karen M. HoguetNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; Corporate GovernanceNot publishedAnne GatesNot described in the published record
Audit; FinanceNot publishedAshok Vemuri, Karen M. Hoguetfinancial
Compensation and TalentJ. Amanda Sourry KnoxJ. Amanda Sourry Knox, Kevin M. Brown, Mark S. Suttonhuman_capital
Compensation and Talent · Chair; FinanceNot publishedJ. Amanda Sourry Knoxhuman_capital, financial
Compensation and Talent; Corporate Governance · ChairNot publishedMark S. Suttonhuman_capital
Compensation and Talent; Public Responsibilities; ESGNot publishedKevin M. Brownhuman_capital
Corporate GovernanceMark S. SuttonMark S. Sutton, Anne GatesNot described in the published record
ESGNora A. AufreiterNora A. Aufreiter, Kevin M. BrownNot described in the published record
FinanceNot publishedAshok Vemuri, J. Amanda Sourry Knox, Karen M. Hoguet, Nora A. Aufreiterfinancial
Finance; Public Responsibilities; ESG · ChairNot publishedNora A. Aufreiterfinancial
Public ResponsibilitiesNot publishedKevin M. Brown, Nora A. AufreiterNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Anne Gates; Members Anne Gates (Chair); Ashok Vemuri; Karen M. Hoguet
Committee AppointmentAnne Gates: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentAshok Vemuri: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKaren M. Hoguet: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation and Talent: Chair J. Amanda Sourry Knox; Members J. Amanda Sourry Knox (Chair); Kevin M. Brown; Mark S. Sutton
Committee AppointmentJ. Amanda Sourry Knox: chair, Compensation and Talent
Committee AppointmentKevin M. Brown: member, Compensation and Talent
Committee AppointmentMark S. Sutton: member, Compensation and Talent
Committee RecordCorporate Governance: Chair Mark S. Sutton; Members Mark S. Sutton (Chair); Anne Gates
Committee AppointmentMark S. Sutton: chair, Corporate Governance
Committee AppointmentAnne Gates: member, Corporate Governance
Committee RecordESG: Chair Nora A. Aufreiter; Members Nora A. Aufreiter (Chair); Kevin M. Brown
Committee AppointmentNora A. Aufreiter: chair, ESG
Committee AppointmentKevin M. Brown: member, ESG
Committee RecordFinance: Chair not stated; Members Ashok Vemuri; J. Amanda Sourry Knox; Karen M. Hoguet; Nora A. Aufreiter
Committee AppointmentAshok Vemuri: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentJ. Amanda Sourry Knox: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentKaren M. Hoguet: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentNora A. Aufreiter: member, Finance
Committee RecordPublic Responsibilities: Chair not stated; Members Kevin M. Brown; Nora A. Aufreiter
Committee AppointmentKevin M. Brown: member, Public Responsibilities
Committee AppointmentNora A. Aufreiter: member, Public Responsibilities

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerGregory S. Foran, Chief Executive Officer
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingKR (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: KRcurrentMar 4, 1957inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameKROGER CO
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.kroger.com
Published FactConsumer Staples
Published Facthttps://www.kroger.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
20 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    KROGER CO Form 10-K (filed 2026-03-31). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published May 13, 2026. Retrieved May 13, 2026. Cited by 10 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published May 15, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published May 15, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published May 15, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    KR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 22 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  20. E20
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Mitchell R. Butier seat on Kroger, effective 2026-05-13.
  • Gregory S. Foran seat on Kroger, effective 2026-02-10.
  • Amanda Sourry seat on Kroger, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Elaine L. Chao seat on Kroger, effective 2021-01-01.
  • J. Amanda Sourry Knox seat on Kroger, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Kevin M. Brown seat on Kroger, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Compensation and Talent · Chair; Finance committee of Kroger, effective 2021-01-01.
  • J. Amanda Sourry Knox member of Compensation and Talent · Chair; Finance, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Compensation and Talent; Public Responsibilities; ESG committee of Kroger, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Kevin M. Brown member of Compensation and Talent; Public Responsibilities; ESG, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Ashok Vemuri seat on Kroger, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Karen M. Hoguet seat on Kroger, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Audit; Finance committee of Kroger, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Ashok Vemuri member of Audit; Finance, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Karen M. Hoguet member of Audit; Finance, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Mark S. Sutton seat on Kroger, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Mark S. Sutton lead independent director of Kroger, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Compensation and Talent; Corporate Governance · Chair committee of Kroger, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Mark S. Sutton member of Compensation and Talent; Corporate Governance · Chair, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Anne Gates seat on Kroger, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Corporate Governance committee of Kroger, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Anne Gates member of Audit · Chair; Corporate Governance, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Nora A. Aufreiter seat on Kroger, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Finance; Public Responsibilities; ESG · Chair committee of Kroger, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Nora A. Aufreiter member of Finance; Public Responsibilities; ESG · Chair, effective 2014-01-01.
  • Ronald L. Sargent seat on Kroger, effective 2006-01-01.
  • Ronald L. Sargent chairs board Kroger, effective 2006-01-01.
  • Clyde R. Moore seat on Kroger, effective 1997-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:0c26ec8d-45bf-4d19-ad9c-2350f5026243, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/kroger-co

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:0c26ec8d-45bf-4d19-ad9c-2350f5026243
  • Cite this recordKroger
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/kroger-co
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    KrogerCompany
  • Brian W. NicholsPerson
  • Carin L. FikePerson
  • David J. C. KennerleyPerson
  • George H. VincentPerson
  • Gregory S. ForanPerson
  • Joseph M. KelleyPerson
  • Mary E. AdcockPerson
  • Megan N. ShafferPerson
  • Timothy A. MassaPerson
  • Valerie L. JabbarPerson
  • Victor R. SmithPerson
  • Yael CossetPerson
  • Amanda SourryPerson
  • Anne GatesPerson
  • Ashok VemuriPerson
  • Clyde R. MoorePerson
  • Elaine L. ChaoPerson
  • Gregory S. ForanPerson
  • J. Amanda Sourry KnoxPerson
  • Karen M. HoguetPerson
  • Kevin M. BrownPerson
  • Mark S. SuttonPerson
  • Mitchell R. ButierPerson
  • Nora A. AufreiterPerson
  • Ronald L. SargentPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewKroger
  • MonitoringKroger
  • LeadershipKroger
  • BoardKroger
  • CommitteesKroger
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.