Published mark

Jefferies Financial Group Inc.

NYSE: JEF. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:efa513f6-2c48-46c2-9e97-d5e4a3d4e898
SEC CIK
0000096223
Website
www.jefferies.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 18, 2026
Newest evidence
Feb 23, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Richard B. HandlerChief Executive Officer
Chair
Not published
Independent
8 / 1010 directors published
Published claims
473 distinct sources
Evidence records
70 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 3 distinct sources and 7 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

GC CHANGED

Michael J. Sharp executive of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2026-02-23.

EffectiveEffective Feb 23, 2026E5

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Executive Vice President and General CounselMichael J. SharpFeb 2026currentSource reportedE5
Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, Principal Financial OfficerMichael LarsonFeb 2026currentSource reportedE6
Vice President and ControllerMark L. CagnoNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerMatt LarsonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Chief Executive OfficerRichard B. HandlerNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4

Board of directors

Evidence

10 directors published. 8 of 10 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Brian P. FriedmanNot independent2013None publishedSource reportedE3
Jacob M. KatzIndependent2018None publishedSource reportedE3
Joseph S. SteinbergIndependent1978None publishedSource reportedE3
MaryAnne GilmartinIndependent2018CompensationCompensation; Nominating and Governance; Risk; ESG · ChairESG, chairNominating and GovernanceRiskSource reportedE3
Matrice Ellis KirkIndependent2021ESGNominating and GovernanceNominating and Governance; Risk; ESGRiskSource reportedE3
Melissa V. WeilerIndependent2021AuditAudit; Compensation · Chair; RiskCompensation, chairRiskSource reportedE3
Michael T. OKaneIndependent2013CompensationCompensation; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE3
Robert D. BeyerIndependent2013Compensation, chairCompensation · Chair; RiskRiskSource reportedE3
Thomas W. JonesIndependent2022AuditAudit; Nominating and Governance; Risk · Chair; ESGESGNominating and GovernanceRisk, chairSource reportedE3
Yoshihiro HyakutomeNot independent2026None publishedSource reportedE3
Jacob M. KatzIndependence not publishedNot publishedAudit, chairESGRiskSource reportedE7

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditJacob M. KatzJacob M. Katz, Melissa V. Weiler, Thomas W. JonesNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation · Chair; RiskNot publishedMelissa V. WeilerNot described in the published record
Audit; Nominating and Governance; Risk · Chair; ESGNot publishedThomas W. JonesNot described in the published record
CompensationRobert D. BeyerMelissa V. Weiler, Robert D. Beyer, MaryAnne Gilmartin, Michael T. OKaneNot described in the published record
Compensation · Chair; RiskNot publishedRobert D. BeyerNot described in the published record
Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedMichael T. OKaneNot described in the published record
Compensation; Nominating and Governance; Risk; ESG · ChairNot publishedMaryAnne GilmartinNot described in the published record
ESGMaryAnne GilmartinMaryAnne Gilmartin, Jacob M. Katz, Matrice Ellis Kirk, Thomas W. JonesNot described in the published record
Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedMaryAnne Gilmartin, Matrice Ellis Kirk, Michael T. OKane, Thomas W. JonesNot described in the published record
Nominating and Governance; Risk; ESGNot publishedMatrice Ellis KirkNot described in the published record
RiskThomas W. JonesThomas W. Jones, Jacob M. Katz, MaryAnne Gilmartin, Matrice Ellis Kirk, Melissa V. Weiler, Robert D. BeyerNot described in the published record
Committee AppointmentJacob M. Katz: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentMelissa V. Weiler: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentThomas W. Jones: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Melissa V. Weiler; Robert D. Beyer; Members Melissa V. Weiler (Chair); Robert D. Beyer (Chair); MaryAnne Gilmartin; Michael T. OKane
Committee AppointmentMelissa V. Weiler: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentRobert D. Beyer: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentMaryAnne Gilmartin: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentMichael T. OKane: member, Compensation
Committee RecordESG: Chair MaryAnne Gilmartin; Members MaryAnne Gilmartin (Chair); Jacob M. Katz; Matrice Ellis Kirk; Thomas W. Jones
Committee AppointmentMaryAnne Gilmartin: chair, ESG
Committee AppointmentJacob M. Katz: member, ESG
Committee AppointmentMatrice Ellis Kirk: member, ESG
Committee AppointmentThomas W. Jones: member, ESG
Committee RecordNominating and Governance: Chair not stated; Members MaryAnne Gilmartin; Matrice Ellis Kirk; Michael T. OKane; Thomas W. Jones
Committee AppointmentMaryAnne Gilmartin: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentMatrice Ellis Kirk: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentMichael T. OKane: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentThomas W. Jones: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee RecordRisk: Chair Thomas W. Jones; Members Thomas W. Jones (Chair); Jacob M. Katz; MaryAnne Gilmartin; Matrice Ellis Kirk; Melissa V. Weiler; Robert D. Beyer
Committee AppointmentThomas W. Jones: chair, Risk
Committee AppointmentJacob M. Katz: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentMaryAnne Gilmartin: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentMatrice Ellis Kirk: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentMelissa V. Weiler: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentRobert D. Beyer: member, Risk

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerRichard B. Handler, Chief Executive Officer
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Security ListingJEF (NYSE)
Index membershipsNo current membership is published in Alpha's tracked index universe.This is not evidence that the company is absent from every market index.
None publishedAs of Oct 18, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameJefferies Financial Group Inc.
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.jefferies.com
Published Facthttps://www.jefferies.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Markets externalNot reviewed. Auditors, advisors, investors and regulators form the external ecosystem.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
7 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 18, 2026. Cited by 4 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    Jefferies Form 10-K. Issuer record. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Feb 23, 2026. Retrieved Jul 12, 2026. Cited by 10 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    leadership page. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 3 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Feb 23, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Feb 23, 2026. Retrieved May 4, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 26 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 18, 2026
  • Michael J. Sharp executive of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2026-02-23.
  • Michael Larson executive of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2026-02-23.
  • Yoshihiro Hyakutome seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2026-01-01.
  • Thomas W. Jones seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2022-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating and Governance; Risk · Chair; ESG committee of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2022-01-01.
  • Thomas W. Jones member of Audit; Nominating and Governance; Risk · Chair; ESG, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Matrice Ellis Kirk seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Melissa V. Weiler seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation · Chair; Risk committee of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Melissa V. Weiler member of Audit; Compensation · Chair; Risk, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Nominating and Governance; Risk; ESG committee of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Matrice Ellis Kirk member of Nominating and Governance; Risk; ESG, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Jacob M. Katz seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2018-01-01.
  • MaryAnne Gilmartin seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2018-01-01.
  • Compensation; Nominating and Governance; Risk; ESG · Chair committee of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2018-01-01.
  • MaryAnne Gilmartin member of Compensation; Nominating and Governance; Risk; ESG · Chair, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Brian P. Friedman seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2013-01-01.
  • Michael T. OKane seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2013-01-01.
  • Robert D. Beyer seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2013-01-01.
  • Compensation · Chair; Risk committee of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2013-01-01.
  • Robert D. Beyer member of Compensation · Chair; Risk, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Compensation; Nominating and Governance committee of Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 2013-01-01.
  • Michael T. OKane member of Compensation; Nominating and Governance, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Joseph S. Steinberg seat on Jefferies Financial Group Inc., effective 1978-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:efa513f6-2c48-46c2-9e97-d5e4a3d4e898, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/jefferies-financial-group-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:efa513f6-2c48-46c2-9e97-d5e4a3d4e898
  • Cite this recordJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/jefferies-financial-group-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Jefferies Financial Group Inc.Company
  • Michael J. SharpPerson
  • Michael LarsonPerson
  • Mark L. CagnoPerson
  • Matt LarsonPerson
  • Richard B. HandlerPerson
  • Brian P. FriedmanPerson
  • Jacob M. KatzPerson
  • Joseph S. SteinbergPerson
  • MaryAnne GilmartinPerson
  • Matrice Ellis KirkPerson
  • Melissa V. WeilerPerson
  • Michael T. OKanePerson
  • Robert D. BeyerPerson
  • Thomas W. JonesPerson
  • Yoshihiro HyakutomePerson
  • Jacob M. KatzPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • MonitoringJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • LeadershipJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • BoardJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • CommitteesJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • Control and votingJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • Authority to actJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • FinancialsJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • GovernanceJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • RiskJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • AI oversightJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • LegalJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • CompensationJefferies Financial Group Inc.
  • Other published claimsJefferies Financial Group Inc.
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.