Published mark

Coursera, Inc.

NYSE: COUR. Coursera, Inc. operates an online learning platform that provides education and skills training in the United States, Europe, the Middle East, Africa, the Asia Pacific, and internationally.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:2863b42b-0517-4205-a8a1-61ed8c523dfa
SEC CIK
0001651562
Website
www.coursera.org Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
May 11, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Gregory M. HartSince Mar 31, 2025
Chair
Not published
Independent
7 / 99 directors published
Published claims
374 distinct sources
Evidence records
90 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 4 distinct sources and 9 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Lydia Paterson seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2026-01-01.

EffectiveEffective Jan 1, 2026E2

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Senior Vice President, General Counsel and SecretaryAlan B. CardenasMar 2025currentSource reportedE3
President, Chief Executive Officer, and DirectorGregory M. HartMar 2025currentSource reportedE4
Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, and TreasurerKenneth R. HahnMar 2025currentSource reportedE5
Senior Vice President and Chief People OfficerMarcelo C. ModicaMar 2025currentSource reportedE6
Vice President, Accounting and Chief Accounting OfficerMichele M. MeyersNot capturedunknownSource reportedE7

Board of directors

Evidence

9 directors published. 7 of 9 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Andrew Y. NgNot independent2011None publishedSource reportedE2
Christine ChangIndependent2021Compensation, chairCompensation · Chair; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Christopher D. McCarthyIndependent2023AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE2
Gregory M. HartNot independent2025None publishedSource reportedE2
Lydia PatersonIndependent2026Audit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE2
Marylou MacoIndependent2026Nominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Scott D. SandellIndependent2011CompensationSource reportedE2
Sohaib AbbasiIndependent2026CompensationSource reportedE2
Theodore R. MitchellIndependent2020AuditAudit; Nominating and Governance · ChairNominating and Governance, chairSource reportedE2
Andrew ClarkIndependence not publishedNot publishedAuditCompensationSource reportedE8
Sabrina L. SimmonsIndependence not publishedNot publishedAudit, chairSource reportedE8
Susan W. MuigaiIndependence not publishedNot publishedCompensationSource reportedE8

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditSabrina L. SimmonsLydia Paterson, Sabrina L. Simmons, Andrew Clark, Christopher D. McCarthy, Theodore R. MitchellNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedLydia PatersonNot described in the published record
Audit; CompensationNot publishedChristopher D. McCarthyNot described in the published record
Audit; Nominating and Governance · ChairNot publishedTheodore R. MitchellNot described in the published record
CompensationChristine ChangChristine Chang, Andrew Clark, Christopher D. McCarthy, Scott D. Sandell, Sohaib Abbasi, Susan W. MuigaiNot described in the published record
Compensation · Chair; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedChristine ChangNot described in the published record
Nominating and GovernanceTheodore R. MitchellTheodore R. Mitchell, Christine Chang, Marylou MacoNot described in the published record
Committee AppointmentLydia Paterson: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentSabrina L. Simmons: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentAndrew Clark: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentChristopher D. McCarthy: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentTheodore R. Mitchell: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentChristine Chang: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentAndrew Clark: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentChristopher D. McCarthy: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentScott D. Sandell: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentSohaib Abbasi: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentSusan W. Muigai: member, Compensation
Committee RecordNominating and Governance: Chair Theodore R. Mitchell; Members Theodore R. Mitchell (Chair); Christine Chang; Marylou Maco
Committee AppointmentTheodore R. Mitchell: chair, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentChristine Chang: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentMarylou Maco: member, Nominating and Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerGregory M. Hart, President, Chief Executive Officer, and Director, from Mar 31, 2025
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Security ListingCOUR (NYSE)
Index membershipsNo current membership is published in Alpha's tracked index universe.This is not evidence that the company is absent from every market index.
None publishedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameCoursera, Inc.
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Published FactEducation
Published FactEducation & Training Services

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Markets externalNot reviewed. Auditors, advisors, investors and regulators form the external ecosystem.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
9 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    sec proxy. Published May 11, 2026. Retrieved May 11, 2026. Cited by 9 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Mar 31, 2025. Retrieved May 7, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Mar 31, 2025. Retrieved May 7, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Mar 31, 2025. Retrieved May 7, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Mar 31, 2025. Retrieved May 7, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    COUR executive roster source
    sec filing. Published May 3, 2026. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authority not assessed
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 13 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 4 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Lydia Paterson seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2026-01-01.
  • Marylou Maco seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2026-01-01.
  • Sohaib Abbasi seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2026-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair committee of Coursera, Inc., effective 2026-01-01.
  • Lydia Paterson member of Audit · Chair, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Alan B. Cardenas executive of Coursera, Inc., effective 2025-03-31.
  • Gregory M. Hart executive of Coursera, Inc., effective 2025-03-31.
  • Kenneth R. Hahn executive of Coursera, Inc., effective 2025-03-31.
  • Marcelo C. Modica executive of Coursera, Inc., effective 2025-03-31.
  • Gregory M. Hart seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2025-01-01.
  • Christopher D. McCarthy seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2023-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation committee of Coursera, Inc., effective 2023-01-01.
  • Christopher D. McCarthy member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Christine Chang seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance committee of Coursera, Inc., effective 2021-01-01.
  • Christine Chang member of Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Theodore R. Mitchell seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2020-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating and Governance · Chair committee of Coursera, Inc., effective 2020-01-01.
  • Theodore R. Mitchell member of Audit; Nominating and Governance · Chair, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Andrew Y. Ng seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2011-01-01.
  • Scott D. Sandell seat on Coursera, Inc., effective 2011-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:2863b42b-0517-4205-a8a1-61ed8c523dfa, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/coursera-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:2863b42b-0517-4205-a8a1-61ed8c523dfa
  • Cite this recordCoursera, Inc.
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/coursera-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Coursera, Inc.Company
  • Alan B. CardenasPerson
  • Gregory M. HartPerson
  • Kenneth R. HahnPerson
  • Marcelo C. ModicaPerson
  • Michele M. MeyersPerson
  • Andrew Y. NgPerson
  • Christine ChangPerson
  • Christopher D. McCarthyPerson
  • Lydia PatersonPerson
  • Marylou MacoPerson
  • Scott D. SandellPerson
  • Sohaib AbbasiPerson
  • Theodore R. MitchellPerson
  • Andrew ClarkPerson
  • Sabrina L. SimmonsPerson
  • Susan W. MuigaiPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewCoursera, Inc.
  • MonitoringCoursera, Inc.
  • LeadershipCoursera, Inc.
  • BoardCoursera, Inc.
  • CommitteesCoursera, Inc.
  • Control and votingCoursera, Inc.
  • Authority to actCoursera, Inc.
  • FinancialsCoursera, Inc.
  • GovernanceCoursera, Inc.
  • RiskCoursera, Inc.
  • AI oversightCoursera, Inc.
  • LegalCoursera, Inc.
  • CompensationCoursera, Inc.
  • Other published claimsCoursera, Inc.
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.