Published mark

Berkshire Hathaway

BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY INC

NYSE: BRK-A. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:b2f1fcbe-31ce-4c7a-9cc4-6d1711149704
SEC CIK
0001067983
Website
www.berkshirehathaway.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 15, 2026
Newest evidence
Jul 28, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Gregory E. AbelChief Executive Officer
Chair
Warren E. BuffettLead independent: Susan L. Decker
Independent
8 / 1313 directors published
Published claims
406 distinct sources
Evidence records
100 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 6 distinct sources and 10 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

CFO CHANGED

Charles C Chang executive of Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2026-06-01.

EffectiveEffective Jun 1, 2026E4

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chief Financial OfficerCharles C ChangJun 2026currentSource reportedE4
President of Consumer Products, Service & RetailingAdam JohnsonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE3
Vice President, Controller & Principal Accounting OfficerDaniel Jerome JaksichNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5
Chief Executive OfficerGregory E. AbelNot capturedunknownSource reportedE6
CEO & President of General Re UnitKara Lee RaiguelNot capturedunknownSource reportedE7
Chief Executive Officer & President of Specialty InsurancePeter James EastwoodNot capturedunknownSource reportedE8

Board of directors

Evidence

13 directors published. 8 of 13 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Ajit JainNot independent2018None publishedSource reportedE2
Charlotte GuymanIndependent2003Governance, Compensation and Nominating, chairGovernance, Compensation and Nominating · ChairSource reportedE2
Christopher C. DavisIndependent2021AuditSource reportedE2
Gregory E. AbelNot independent2018None publishedSource reportedE2
Howard G. BuffettNot independent1993None publishedSource reportedE2
Kenneth I. ChenaultIndependent2020Governance, Compensation and NominatingSource reportedE2
Meryl B. WitmerIndependent2013AuditSource reportedE2
Stephen B. BurkeIndependent2009Governance, Compensation and NominatingSource reportedE2
Susan A. BuffettNot independent2021None publishedSource reportedE2
Susan L. DeckerIndependentLead Independent2007Audit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE2
Thomas S. Murphy JrIndependent2022Governance, Compensation and NominatingSource reportedE2
Wallace R. WeitzIndependent2022AuditSource reportedE2
Warren E. BuffettNot independentChair1965None publishedSource reportedE2

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditSusan L. DeckerSusan L. Decker, Christopher C. Davis, Meryl B. Witmer, Wallace R. WeitzNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedSusan L. DeckerNot described in the published record
Governance, Compensation and NominatingCharlotte GuymanCharlotte Guyman, Kenneth I. Chenault, Stephen B. Burke, Thomas S. Murphy JrNot described in the published record
Governance, Compensation and Nominating · ChairNot publishedCharlotte GuymanNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Susan L. Decker; Members Susan L. Decker (Chair); Christopher C. Davis; Meryl B. Witmer; Wallace R. Weitz
Committee AppointmentSusan L. Decker: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentChristopher C. Davis: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMeryl B. Witmer: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentWallace R. Weitz: member, Audit
Committee RecordGovernance, Compensation and Nominating: Chair Charlotte Guyman; Members Charlotte Guyman (Chair); Kenneth I. Chenault; Stephen B. Burke; Thomas S. Murphy Jr
Committee AppointmentCharlotte Guyman: chair, Governance, Compensation and Nominating
Committee AppointmentKenneth I. Chenault: member, Governance, Compensation and Nominating
Committee AppointmentStephen B. Burke: member, Governance, Compensation and Nominating
Committee AppointmentThomas S. Murphy Jr: member, Governance, Compensation and Nominating

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerGregory E. Abel, Chief Executive Officer
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingBRK-A (NYSE)
Security ListingBRK-B (NYSE)
Security ListingBRK.A (NYSE)
Security ListingBRK.B (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: BRK-AcurrentFeb 16, 2010inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameBERKSHIRE HATHAWAY INC
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Published FactFinancials
Published FactInsurance

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
10 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 15, 2026. Cited by 10 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    sec proxy. Published Mar 13, 2026. Retrieved Mar 23, 2026. Cited by 13 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    other. Published Jul 28, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    legacy. Published Jun 1, 2026. Retrieved Sep 12, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    other. Published Jul 28, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    leadership page. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    other. Published Jul 28, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    other. Published Jul 28, 2026. Retrieved Jul 28, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 10 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 15, 2026
  • Charles C Chang executive of Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2026-06-01.
  • Thomas S. Murphy Jr seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Wallace R. Weitz seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Christopher C. Davis seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Susan A. Buffett seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Christopher C. Davis member of Audit, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Kenneth I. Chenault seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Kenneth I. Chenault member of Governance, Compensation and Nominating, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Ajit Jain seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Gregory E. Abel seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Meryl B. Witmer seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Stephen B. Burke seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2009-01-01.
  • Susan L. Decker seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2007-01-01.
  • Susan L. Decker lead independent director of Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2007-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair committee of Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2007-01-01.
  • Susan L. Decker member of Audit · Chair, effective 2007-01-01.
  • Charlotte Guyman seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2003-01-01.
  • Governance, Compensation and Nominating · Chair committee of Berkshire Hathaway, effective 2003-01-01.
  • Charlotte Guyman member of Governance, Compensation and Nominating · Chair, effective 2003-01-01.
  • Howard G. Buffett seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 1993-01-01.
  • Warren E. Buffett seat on Berkshire Hathaway, effective 1965-01-01.
  • Warren E. Buffett chairs board Berkshire Hathaway, effective 1965-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:b2f1fcbe-31ce-4c7a-9cc4-6d1711149704, version public-1:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/berkshire-hathaway

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:b2f1fcbe-31ce-4c7a-9cc4-6d1711149704
  • Cite this recordBerkshire Hathaway
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/berkshire-hathaway
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    Berkshire HathawayCompany
  • Charles C ChangPerson
  • Adam JohnsonPerson
  • Daniel Jerome JaksichPerson
  • Gregory E. AbelPerson
  • Kara Lee RaiguelPerson
  • Peter James EastwoodPerson
  • Ajit JainPerson
  • Charlotte GuymanPerson
  • Christopher C. DavisPerson
  • Howard G. BuffettPerson
  • Kenneth I. ChenaultPerson
  • Meryl B. WitmerPerson
  • Stephen B. BurkePerson
  • Susan A. BuffettPerson
  • Susan L. DeckerPerson
  • Thomas S. Murphy JrPerson
  • Wallace R. WeitzPerson
  • Warren E. BuffettPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewBerkshire Hathaway
  • MonitoringBerkshire Hathaway
  • LeadershipBerkshire Hathaway
  • BoardBerkshire Hathaway
  • CommitteesBerkshire Hathaway
  • Control and votingBerkshire Hathaway
  • Authority to actBerkshire Hathaway
  • FinancialsBerkshire Hathaway
  • GovernanceBerkshire Hathaway
  • RiskBerkshire Hathaway
  • AI oversightBerkshire Hathaway
  • LegalBerkshire Hathaway
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.