Published mark

SMITHFIELD FOODS INC

NASDAQ: SFD. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:89040b5d-df7b-4d07-9e5b-ed0853dcb2a2
SEC CIK
0000091388
Website
www.smithfieldfoods.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 23, 2026
Newest evidence
Apr 24, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
C. Shane SmithSince Mar 24, 2026
Chair
Not published
Independent
3 / 99 directors published
Published claims
444 distinct sources
Evidence records
170 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 4 distinct sources and 17 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

CEO CHANGED

C. Shane Smith executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.

EffectiveEffective Mar 24, 2026E5

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
President, Chief Executive Officer and DirectorC. Shane SmithMar 2026currentSource reportedE5
Chief Manufacturing OfficerDoniel N. SuttonMar 2026currentSource reportedE6
President, North American PorkDonovan OwensMar 2026currentSource reportedE7
Chief Human Resources OfficerI. Jay BennettMar 2026currentSource reportedE9
Chief Business OfficerKeller D. WattsMar 2026currentSource reportedE12
President, Hog ProductionKraig A. WesterbeekMar 2026currentSource reportedE13
Chief Financial OfficerMark L. HallMar 2026currentSource reportedE14
Chief Legal OfficerTennille J. CheckovichMar 2026currentSource reportedE16
Chief Ethics & Compliance OfficerAllyson BouldonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE3
Chief Marketing OfficerBrendan SmithNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Chief Manufacturing OfficerDoug SuttonNot capturedunknownSource reportedE8
Chief Human Resources OfficerIsham BennettNot capturedunknownSource reportedE10
Vice President of Investor RelationsJulie MacMedanNot capturedunknownSource reportedE11
President of Packaged MeatsSteven J. FranceNot capturedunknownSource reportedE15

Board of directors

Evidence

9 directors published. 3 of 9 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
C. Shane SmithNot independent2021None publishedSource reportedE2
Hongwei WanNot independent2025None publishedSource reportedE2
Huaqin HeNot independent2016CompensationCompensation; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
John A. QuelchIndependent2025AuditAudit; CompensationCompensationSource reportedE2
Lijun GuoNot independent2015CompensationSource reportedE2
Long WanNot independent2013Compensation, chairCompensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance · ChairNominating and Governance, chairSource reportedE2
Marie T. GallagherIndependent2025Audit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE2
Raymond A. StarlingIndependent2025AuditAudit; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Xunyong ZhouNot independent2025CompensationCompensation; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditMarie T. GallagherMarie T. Gallagher, John A. Quelch, Raymond A. StarlingNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedMarie T. GallagherNot described in the published record
Audit; CompensationNot publishedJohn A. QuelchNot described in the published record
Audit; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedRaymond A. StarlingNot described in the published record
CompensationLong WanLong Wan, Huaqin He, John A. Quelch, Lijun Guo, Xunyong ZhouNot described in the published record
Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance · ChairNot publishedLong WanNot described in the published record
Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedHuaqin He, Xunyong ZhouNot described in the published record
Nominating and GovernanceLong WanLong Wan, Huaqin He, Raymond A. Starling, Xunyong ZhouNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Marie T. Gallagher; Members Marie T. Gallagher (Chair); John A. Quelch; Raymond A. Starling
Committee AppointmentMarie T. Gallagher: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentJohn A. Quelch: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentRaymond A. Starling: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Long Wan; Members Long Wan (Chair); Huaqin He; John A. Quelch; Lijun Guo; Xunyong Zhou
Committee AppointmentLong Wan: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentHuaqin He: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentJohn A. Quelch: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentLijun Guo: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentXunyong Zhou: member, Compensation
Committee RecordNominating and Governance: Chair Long Wan; Members Long Wan (Chair); Huaqin He; Raymond A. Starling; Xunyong Zhou
Committee AppointmentLong Wan: chair, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentHuaqin He: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentRaymond A. Starling: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentXunyong Zhou: member, Nominating and Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerC. Shane Smith, President, Chief Executive Officer and Director, from Mar 24, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Security ListingSFD (NASDAQ)
Security ListingSF$D (NYSE)
Index membershipsNo current membership is published in Alpha's tracked index universe.This is not evidence that the company is absent from every market index.
None publishedAs of Oct 23, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Published FactMaterials

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Markets externalNot reviewed. Auditors, advisors, investors and regulators form the external ecosystem.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
17 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 23, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    sec proxy. Published Apr 20, 2026. Retrieved Apr 28, 2026. Cited by 9 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    other. Published Apr 24, 2026. Retrieved Apr 24, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    other. Published Apr 24, 2026. Retrieved Apr 24, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 6, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 6, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 6, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    other. Published Apr 24, 2026. Retrieved Apr 24, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 6, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    other. Published Apr 24, 2026. Retrieved Apr 24, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    other. Published Apr 24, 2026. Retrieved Apr 24, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 6, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 6, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 6, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    other. Published Apr 24, 2026. Retrieved Apr 24, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    sec filing. Published Mar 24, 2026. Retrieved May 6, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 15 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 23, 2026
  • C. Shane Smith executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Doniel N. Sutton executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Donovan Owens executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.
  • I. Jay Bennett executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Keller D. Watts executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Kraig A. Westerbeek executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Mark L. Hall executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Tennille J. Checkovich executive of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2026-03-24.
  • Hongwei Wan seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • John A. Quelch seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Marie T. Gallagher seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Raymond A. Starling seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Xunyong Zhou seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair committee of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Marie T. Gallagher member of Audit · Chair, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation committee of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • John A. Quelch member of Audit; Compensation, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Audit; Nominating and Governance committee of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Raymond A. Starling member of Audit; Nominating and Governance, effective 2025-01-01.
  • Xunyong Zhou member of Compensation; Nominating and Governance, effective 2025-01-01.
  • C. Shane Smith seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2021-01-01.
  • Huaqin He seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Compensation; Nominating and Governance committee of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Huaqin He member of Compensation; Nominating and Governance, effective 2016-01-01.
  • Lijun Guo seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2015-01-01.
  • Long Wan seat on SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance · Chair committee of SMITHFIELD FOODS INC, effective 2013-01-01.
  • Long Wan member of Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance · Chair, effective 2013-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:89040b5d-df7b-4d07-9e5b-ed0853dcb2a2, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/smithfield-foods-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:89040b5d-df7b-4d07-9e5b-ed0853dcb2a2
  • Cite this recordSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/smithfield-foods-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    SMITHFIELD FOODS INCCompany
  • C. Shane SmithPerson
  • Doniel N. SuttonPerson
  • Donovan OwensPerson
  • I. Jay BennettPerson
  • Keller D. WattsPerson
  • Kraig A. WesterbeekPerson
  • Mark L. HallPerson
  • Tennille J. CheckovichPerson
  • Allyson BouldonPerson
  • Brendan SmithPerson
  • Doug SuttonPerson
  • Isham BennettPerson
  • Julie MacMedanPerson
  • Steven J. FrancePerson
  • C. Shane SmithPerson
  • Hongwei WanPerson
  • Huaqin HePerson
  • John A. QuelchPerson
  • Lijun GuoPerson
  • Long WanPerson
  • Marie T. GallagherPerson
  • Raymond A. StarlingPerson
  • Xunyong ZhouPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
  • MonitoringSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
  • LeadershipSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
  • BoardSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
  • CommitteesSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
  • Control and votingSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
  • Authority to actSMITHFIELD FOODS INC
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.