Published mark

NRG Energy

NRG ENERGY, INC.

NYSE: NRG. NRG Energy, Inc., together with its affiliated entities, operates as a comprehensive power utility spanning the United States.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:5a8e953d-aa7b-44e3-ae44-cb2df6365240
SEC CIK
0001013871
Website
www.nrg.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 16, 2026
Newest evidence
Apr 30, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Lawrence Stephen CobenCEO & Chairman of the Board
Chair
Not publishedLead independent: Antonio Carrillo
Independent
9 / 99 directors published
Published claims
495 distinct sources
Evidence records
150 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 5 distinct sources and 15 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

Sanjay Kapoor seat on NRG Energy, effective 2026-01-01.

EffectiveEffective Jan 1, 2026E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Executive Vice President & President of NRG ConsumerBrad BentleyNot capturedunknownSource reportedE4
Executive Vice President of Legal & General CounselBrian E. CurciNot capturedunknownSource reportedE5
EVP & CFOBruce ChungNot capturedunknownSource reportedE6
Executive Vice President and Head of Competitive Markets & PolicyChristopher S. MoserNot capturedunknownSource reportedE7
Executive Vice President & Chief Technology OfficerDak LiyanearachchiNot capturedunknownSource reportedE8
Senior Vice President & Chief Accounting OfficerGerald Alfred SpencerNot capturedunknownSource reportedE9
Senior Vice President of Asset ManagementJudith LaganoNot capturedunknownSource reportedE10
CEO & Chairman of the BoardLawrence Stephen CobenNot capturedunknownSource reportedE11
PresidentRobert J. GaudetteNot capturedunknownSource reportedE12
Executive Vice President & Chief Administrative OfficerVirginia Kirkland KinneyNot capturedunknownSource reportedE13

Board of directors

Evidence

9 directors published. 9 of 9 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Alexander PourbaixIndependent2023CompensationSource reportedE3
Alexandra PrunerIndependent2019AuditSource reportedE3
Antonio CarrilloIndependentLead Independent2019CompensationSource reportedE3
Elisabeth B. DonohueIndependent2020FinanceFinance; RiskRiskSource reportedE3
Heather CoxIndependent2018GovernanceGovernance; NominatingNominatingSource reportedE3
Marcie C. ZlotnikIndependent2023AuditSource reportedE3
Marwan FawazIndependent2023FinanceFinance; RiskRiskSource reportedE3
Matthew Carter JrIndependent2018GovernanceGovernance; NominatingNominatingSource reportedE3
Sanjay KapoorIndependent2026AuditSource reportedE3
Robert J. GaudetteNot independentNot publishedNone publishedSource reportedE3

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditNot publishedAlexandra Pruner, Marcie C. Zlotnik, Sanjay KapoorNot described in the published record
CompensationNot publishedAlexander Pourbaix, Antonio CarrilloNot described in the published record
FinanceNot publishedElisabeth B. Donohue, Marwan Fawazfinancial
Finance; RiskNot publishedElisabeth B. Donohue, Marwan Fawazfinancial
GovernanceNot publishedHeather Cox, Matthew Carter JrNot described in the published record
Governance; NominatingNot publishedHeather Cox, Matthew Carter JrNot described in the published record
NominatingNot publishedHeather Cox, Matthew Carter JrNot described in the published record
RiskNot publishedElisabeth B. Donohue, Marwan FawazNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair not stated; Members Alexandra Pruner; Marcie C. Zlotnik; Sanjay Kapoor
Committee AppointmentAlexandra Pruner: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentMarcie C. Zlotnik: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentSanjay Kapoor: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair not stated; Members Alexander Pourbaix; Antonio Carrillo
Committee AppointmentAlexander Pourbaix: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentAntonio Carrillo: member, Compensation
Committee RecordFinance: Chair not stated; Members Elisabeth B. Donohue; Marwan Fawaz
Committee AppointmentElisabeth B. Donohue: member, Finance
Committee AppointmentMarwan Fawaz: member, Finance
Committee RecordGovernance: Chair not stated; Members Heather Cox; Matthew Carter Jr
Committee AppointmentHeather Cox: member, Governance
Committee AppointmentMatthew Carter Jr: member, Governance
Committee RecordNominating: Chair not stated; Members Heather Cox; Matthew Carter Jr
Committee AppointmentHeather Cox: member, Nominating
Committee AppointmentMatthew Carter Jr: member, Nominating
Committee RecordRisk: Chair not stated; Members Elisabeth B. Donohue; Marwan Fawaz
Committee AppointmentElisabeth B. Donohue: member, Risk
Committee AppointmentMarwan Fawaz: member, Risk

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerLawrence Stephen Coben, CEO & Chairman of the Board
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingNRG (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 16, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: NRGcurrentJan 29, 2010inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameNRG ENERGY, INC.
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.nrg.com
Published FactUtilities
Published FactIndependent Power Producers
Published Facthttps://www.nrg.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
15 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 16, 2026. Cited by 7 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    NRG ENERGY INC Form 10-K. SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Mar 18, 2026. Retrieved Mar 23, 2026. Cited by 10 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    other. Published Apr 30, 2026. Retrieved Apr 30, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    board_seats. sp500-board-director-completeness-remediation-2026-05-15. Cited by 19 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 16, 2026
  • Sanjay Kapoor seat on NRG Energy, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Alexander Pourbaix seat on NRG Energy, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Marcie C. Zlotnik seat on NRG Energy, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Marwan Fawaz seat on NRG Energy, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Alexander Pourbaix member of Compensation, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Marwan Fawaz member of Finance; Risk, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Elisabeth B. Donohue seat on NRG Energy, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Finance; Risk committee of NRG Energy, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Elisabeth B. Donohue member of Finance; Risk, effective 2020-01-01.
  • Alexandra Pruner seat on NRG Energy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Antonio Carrillo seat on NRG Energy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Antonio Carrillo lead independent director of NRG Energy, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Alexandra Pruner member of Audit, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Heather Cox seat on NRG Energy, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Matthew Carter Jr seat on NRG Energy, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Governance; Nominating committee of NRG Energy, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Heather Cox member of Governance; Nominating, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Matthew Carter Jr member of Governance; Nominating, effective 2018-01-01.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:5a8e953d-aa7b-44e3-ae44-cb2df6365240, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/nrg-energy-inc

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:5a8e953d-aa7b-44e3-ae44-cb2df6365240
  • Cite this recordNRG Energy
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/nrg-energy-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    NRG EnergyCompany
  • Brad BentleyPerson
  • Brian E. CurciPerson
  • Bruce ChungPerson
  • Christopher S. MoserPerson
  • Dak LiyanearachchiPerson
  • Gerald Alfred SpencerPerson
  • Judith LaganoPerson
  • Lawrence Stephen CobenPerson
  • Robert J. GaudettePerson
  • Virginia Kirkland KinneyPerson
  • Alexander PourbaixPerson
  • Alexandra PrunerPerson
  • Antonio CarrilloPerson
  • Elisabeth B. DonohuePerson
  • Heather CoxPerson
  • Marcie C. ZlotnikPerson
  • Marwan FawazPerson
  • Matthew Carter JrPerson
  • Sanjay KapoorPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewNRG Energy
  • MonitoringNRG Energy
  • LeadershipNRG Energy
  • BoardNRG Energy
  • CommitteesNRG Energy
  • Control and votingNRG Energy
  • Authority to actNRG Energy
  • FinancialsNRG Energy
  • GovernanceNRG Energy
  • RiskNRG Energy
  • AI oversightNRG Energy
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.